Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2002, 04:21 PM
Seller Seller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miami,LA,NY
Posts: 882
Default OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

http://www.apple.com/macosx/technologies/audio.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2002, 04:22 PM
Seller Seller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miami,LA,NY
Posts: 882
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

any Questions..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2002, 05:14 PM
PacMan PacMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

Yeah, i have a question.

So, when everybody finally gets around to providing OSX versions of their software, will we get these super low latency claims, with using existing soundcards ?

I'm obviously not talking about tdm here, but native systems.

will somebody with a 001 or similiar, get 1 or 2 milliseconds latency in OSX ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2002, 08:35 PM
Nexxt Nexxt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 206
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

Hmmmm......something else for Bill Gates to try to copy (in true MSFT style) with sloppy code, crowded interfaces and poor execution. [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

Just kidding, of course. hahahahahahaha! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
__________________
When it's perfect, there'll always be another change!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2002, 09:50 PM
maxserg maxserg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: St-Roch-de-l\'Achigan, Québec
Posts: 824
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

I can imagine Bill Gates rolling on his pillow, no sleep before 4am.!

[img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2002, 11:58 PM
digiengineer digiengineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 504
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

Uuhhh....Bill Gates owns part of Apple.
__________________
Bryan Jackson
Independent Audio Systems Engineer
Burbank,CA / Las Vegas, NV
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2002, 12:06 AM
Nexxt Nexxt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 206
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

Quote:
Originally posted by digiengineer:
Uuhhh....Bill Gates owns part of Apple.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Uuhhh.....So do I.....but that doesn't give me a right to steal....er copy.

BG also owns part of Avid/Digi. [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
__________________
When it's perfect, there'll always be another change!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2002, 04:21 PM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 875
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

That's hilarious. So Apple is doing development for MS. Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2002, 02:13 PM
George888 George888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Singapore
Posts: 118
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

So when is Digi going to support OSX? How long can they hold on? IMHO, Core Audio works really great! Anybody running Reason will be able to tell you that. Low latency, High headroom. 96K support, etc etc..

I have a feeling that Digi and MOTU, etc.. are dragging its feet as Core Audio will make most of the Digi DSP cards obsolete.
They have to sell you hardware to charge those prices.
Imagine a system as powerful as the HD process running on just software and I/Os for the price of a Digi 001?

OSX is now more stable than 9.2 and I hate having to switch OS everytime I want to use Pro Tools or Digi Performer while I use OSX for everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2002, 03:32 PM
majortracks2 majortracks2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Walnut Creek CA USA
Posts: 286
Default Re: OS X Core Audio...at Apple...

George George George......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio from Apple Apps. Core Audio problem? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-23-2006 07:03 AM
Core Audio 6.7 breaks Apple DVD player Chris Coleman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2005 10:19 PM
Core Audio and Apple DVD Player scottgreiner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-21-2004 08:18 PM
core audio setup OR apple sound preference? Saar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-16-2004 03:56 PM
New Core Audio Breaks Apple DVD Player? Last Legend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-14-2003 02:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com