Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2022, 11:26 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 275
Default Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

I am trying to run a Sonnet Echo 3 TB2 internal with TB 3 card (upgraded by Sonnet) on Mac Studio - Os Monterey 12.3 - PT HD/Flex 2022.4.

Initially, the Mac Studio recognized the Chassis and Card. The HD native engine never wold.

PT will not recognize the HD Native card in this Chassis. Also tried this with PT 2021.12 HD divers were installed.

Also tried native card in Echo 2 chassis with TB 3 card. No luck either.

Both Chassis with Native cards are read by Intel i7 Mac book Pro with PT 2021.10. This CPU upgraded the firmware on the Native card.

Mac Studio will no longer even see the thunderbolt device or PCI card.

Any thoughts?

Buster
Mac Studio
Monterey 12.3
Sonnet Echo 3 chassis
HD IO interface
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2022, 03:14 PM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 336
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

Double check that you followed the install correctly and did the security fix. There are a few of us that have other issues with the HD Native card, Sonnet chassis, and the Mac Studio. It's been posted in other threads.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ation-on-macOS
__________________
System info
https://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=57185
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2022, 05:00 AM
chaos audio chaos audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

What I have tested so far with the new version 2022.4.
Mack Studio Max 32 GB , Sonnet DuoModo expansion Chassi TB3,
HD Native PCIe, UAD2 Quad PCIe, MTRX Studio , 2x 192 IO.
Installation without problems, first startup the same.
After restart of PT, CPU spikes, although no session is open. As already with version 2021.12.

MacBook Pro 2017, Intel, Sonnet DuoModo expansion Chassi TB3, HD Native PCIe, UAD2 Quad PCIe, MTRX Studio , 2x 192 IO.
Installation without any problems. System boots and runs with expected performance.

Mack Studio Max 32 GB , Sonnet DuoModo expansion Chassi TB3, HDX Core card, MTRX Studio , 2x 192 IO.
Installation without problems. System boots and runs with tremendous performance.

Mack Studio Max 32 GB , HD Native TB, MTRX Studio , 2x 192 IO.
Installation without problems. System starts and runs with expected performance.

Conclusion, is it possible that HD Native PCIe cards are no longer supported or supported?
Does anyone have a system with HD Native PCIe and MacStudio running?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.7, HD NATIV TB,
MacStudio, Sonnet EchoIIID, MTRX Studio, 2x192, UAD2 Quad, Sonnet Fusion SSD Raid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2022, 03:19 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,492
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

FYI: √
tested Magma Roben TB2 3-PCIe slot chassis (Apple TB2 to TB3 adaptor)
With Mac Studio m1-max 32Gb, 512Gb.
2021.12 HDX. A-Okay(after security measures for installation of extensions)

Last edited by DetroitT; 05-08-2022 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2022, 03:50 PM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 79
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

Any updates on this situation? Curious if you got it working as I have a sonnet echo in route for my new Studio Ultra.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2022, 07:34 PM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 336
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-support-dates

I've been in back and forth contact with Avid support for about over 4 weeks now but unfortunately they have yet to help solve the CPU spikes.
Mac Studio Max > Echo 3 Desktop > HD Native PCIe/HD Omni > 2022.4(or 2012.12)
__________________
System info
https://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=57185
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2022, 10:24 AM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

I believe I had this same problem and the solution was to switch to a TB2 sonnet chassis because the TB3 version is not fully compatible with HDX. My understanding is that he HDX branded version of this chassis is TB2 under the hood (essentially a USB C adaptor built in).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2022, 10:35 AM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 336
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

Yes, the original TB3 Echo chassis had that issue but the latest version (Echo III Desktop) has an internal HDX switch to eliminate any issues the TB3 connection. It was working well up until recently I guess. Maybe that workaround could still work.
__________________
System info
https://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=57185
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2022, 11:09 AM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 79
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

What do you mean by original TB3? I thought the original was a TB2 and you could upgrade to TB3.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2022, 12:24 PM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 336
Default Re: Sonnet Echo 3 Chasis not Recognized my Mac Studio/PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adupr View Post
What do you mean by original TB3? I thought the original was a TB2 and you could upgrade to TB3.

I was trying to reply but you deleted your other post.


(Part No. ECHO-EXP3FD-TB3)
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/le...cts/index.html
__________________
System info
https://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=57185
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonnet Echo 3R HDX Edition TB3 protoolsuserman Buy & Sell 2 12-11-2021 06:22 PM
Looking for a Sonnet Echo 3/iiir or 3/iii protoolsuserman Buy & Sell 5 06-02-2021 11:10 PM
FS: Sonnet Echo Express SE II TB2 pl007 Buy & Sell 1 05-05-2020 12:12 PM
Sonnet ECHO Express III D francois Buy & Sell 3 08-13-2018 04:27 AM
nMP+Sonnet Echo Express III mBox macOS 11 06-27-2014 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com