Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2016, 01:46 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Default 27" iMac slow editing

Well .. title says everything and this may be a very stupid question... but I just bought a late 2015 i5 8gb ram 27" iMac (no fusion drive) and now everything is acting very very slow in edit window... when I reduce the screen size it all works fine again. I also have a mid 2010 i3 12 gb 21,5" iMac and everything is running smoothly on it. .. so is it a Ram-thing, or is there anything else I can do?
... thanks in advance..

Mads


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2016, 01:48 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

Did you get the onboard or discrete graphics card in your new 27" iMac?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:08 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

Well this is from the spec-list



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:16 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

Are you running your session from the internal 5400 rpm hard drive?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:22 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

I really don't know.. Sorry.. I'm a dumbass around computers. I have no external drive attached, so I guess I am. What I don't get is, that on my 2010 machine I have absolutely no problems.. I bought the bigger screen for comfort but got frustrated instead :) should I buy an external drive?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:26 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by madselhoff View Post
should I buy an external drive?
It's tough to say. The general consensus is that either a separate internal drive or external drive for your audio session is the best way to run Protools. Either a SSD or a HDD running at 7200rpms.

But, an internal solid state drive will often work just fine as both your system drive and session drive.

I dn't know if your older iMac has a SSD drive, or it may be possible that you may have a 7200rpm hard drive in it (I don't know if Apple was putting 7200 rpm drives in their iMacs).
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:33 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

Thanks a lot I will defenently look into this so I can get my workflow back on top again! ..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:38 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Default 27" iMac slow editing

On this spec list (mk462) is says 7200 rpm?! I found this on the website from the company that I bought from




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2016, 02:55 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 383
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

The ONLY way to accurately determine the exact specs of the machine is to go to the Apple menu (top left of the start screen, the little Apple logo and select about "about this Mac"), that will at least tell you how much ram, what type of processor and which version of the OS you are running, if you then click on the "System Report" button within this screen you'll be able to find out what type of hard storage you have and at what speed it's running.

A HDD spinning at 5400rpm will cause you issue as a system/start up drive, it's simply TOO slow and will cause flaky performance. AVID recommend a seperate HDD to store your session data on.

As for the the "running slow" are you talking general performance or slow graphics? I've noticed a certain clunkiness with certain apps - PT included - on the 5k screens when set to maximum res, the PT meters seem to work smoothly but re-sizing can be far from smooth, this seem to vary between different versions of the OS as well

so, a little more info on the computer specs may help narrow down the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2016, 03:07 PM
jpellizzi jpellizzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 49
Default Re: 27" iMac slow editing

What OS did it come with/are you using? El Capitan is sluggish with Pro Tools, and I had the same issue with my brand new 5k iMac. It's a GUI meter lag thing, and PT 12.5.2 fixed it a bit for some but it's still there for sure.

Probably has nothing to do with your hard drive. Sierra supposedly fixes it too but be careful about upgrading.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing: slow response. HELP! Inthebox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-14-2011 11:31 AM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 10:30 AM
How to turn an "S" to a "Z" wtih editing Impala Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-08-2003 05:57 PM
What's the difference between "online" and "offline" editing ? stuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-21-2002 03:46 PM
9073 "slow/fragmented" disc error - playback stops!! PLS HELP VanEdge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-27-2001 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com