Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2011, 06:49 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,917
Default new interface for Protools 9

I need to upgrade my personal rig from my original MBox with LE 7.1 to something that will run PT9 on Windows 7.

What third party interfaces are you guys using for Protools 9? I'd like something fairly compact, about the size of an MBox that I can throw in my recording flight case (i.e. not a rack mount unit). I don't need more than two inputs.

How is the MBox 3? What else is out there that is built better and/or sounds better? I've been thinking about a MOTU Ultralight or maybe the Focusrite Saffire Pro 24.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2011, 07:09 AM
Sidhu Sidhu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 227
Default Re: new interface for Protools 9

I would think the M-audio interfaces would work the best.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2011, 08:32 AM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: new interface for Protools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidhu View Post
I would think the M-audio interfaces would work the best.
M-Audio working better than Mbox? I've yet to see that happen...

Anyway, in terms of analog I/O the Mbox 3 is a 2x2 USB interface, Saffire Pro 24 is 6x4 FireWire interface. The MOTU Ultralight is even 8x8 w/ 2 preamps and a no-latency DSP mixer.
They are three completely different beasts. Think carefully about your needs (I/O, USB or FW, preamps) - you might not need more than two inputs right now, but you can take an advantage of more for your studio, for example. Sonically, they are all entry-level interfaces (which is not bad at all), but they all will do their job.
__________________
BcA. Tomas Vitha
Sound Designer and Mixer

2010 Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, OS X 10.6.6, PT HD 9.0.3, Mbox 2 Pro, C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alessis Multimix8usbfx interface and Mbox 2 interface with Protools 11 Majorpain7 Pro Tools 11 0 01-06-2014 07:40 PM
ProTools Interface RJRuss Pro Tools 9 3 08-17-2011 02:08 PM
protools 9 without an interface Jumanous Pro Tools 9 11 07-06-2011 09:04 PM
Jeff Han's "no-interface" interface - soon for ProTools ??? ith_e General Discussion 5 04-13-2007 07:59 AM
Protools Interface ?? Scott Fahy VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 12-20-2006 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com