Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2006, 12:25 PM
Scott Fahy Scott Fahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 400
Default Protools Interface ??

If we are tracking 40 channels (roughly) into a Protools set up which is the best HD card to purchase.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:30 PM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 479
Default Re: Protools Interface ??

You will need to use two HDx connectors to record 40 channels. I believe that they now sell the HDx option as a two card system (128 channel capable). You will need the second stage rack snake card (not the second stage rack itself) to run 128 channels though. Connection is easy, the D-link connectors on the HDx card attach to the HD Core and HD Accel cards in your computer, et voila instant 64 channel bi-directional audio.

Fairly easy to setup, just read the directions.

Erik
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2006, 07:55 PM
Scott Fahy Scott Fahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 400
Default Re: Protools Interface ??

Erik I knew when I typed the original question I should have been more specifc. We already have the necessary cards for the Venue, what I was wondering is which HD cards do we need for the computer HD1 or HD2?

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2006, 10:51 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Protools Interface ??

Hi Scott,

Each Pro Tools card (Core or Accel) handles 32 channel in each direction, so an HD2 system (1 Core plus 1 Accel) is needed for 40 tracks. This configuration gives a total of 64 tracks of playback and record, matching the full capacity of a single VENUE HDx card.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alessis Multimix8usbfx interface and Mbox 2 interface with Protools 11 Majorpain7 Pro Tools 11 0 01-06-2014 07:40 PM
ProTools Interface RJRuss Pro Tools 9 3 08-17-2011 02:08 PM
protools 9 without an interface Jumanous Pro Tools 9 11 07-06-2011 09:04 PM
new interface for Protools 9 JCBigler Windows 2 05-01-2011 08:32 AM
Jeff Han's "no-interface" interface - soon for ProTools ??? ith_e General Discussion 5 04-13-2007 07:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com