Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2000, 09:24 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: Plug in preset question

Yes, changing the preset changes the characteristics of the preset. You will notice that the preset name goes italic as soon as you start to turn a knob, move a fader, or press a button. Whether the change is more or less "neve-like" depends on your taste, experience, or sheer dumb luck. In any case, a "neve" preset won't magically turn your plug-in into a neve, it just tries to mimick the general settings using what it has to work with. It's like driving your Toyota at 90 mph and saying it's a Ferrari cuz it can go the same speed.


------------------
Angelo Quaglia
AQ Productions
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2000, 12:13 AM
Red Wing Red Wing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 59
Default Plug in preset question

All right gentleman I have a question. With regards to Plug in presets, let's say a
compressor or eq, does changing parameters within the preset in a sense undo the
preset's charactersitics? In other words if you have a program that emulates a Neve
eq, can you manipulate all of the available parameters whithin the preset in the
same way that you would be able to with an actual Neve strip while maintaining
the inherent "Neveness"? Thanks from a beginner!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2000, 10:17 AM
Red Wing Red Wing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 59
Default Re: Plug in preset question

I very much appreciate your response to my question Angelo, thanks. You've pretty much cleared this up for me in that I just wasn't sure how changing things like attack and release times within a preset environment would affect the "modelled" sound. I'll just consider the presets as starting points for dialing in what I need. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2000, 11:34 AM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: Plug in preset question

beware the digirack comps and lims.

they sound best with a fat attack, and small gain reduction.

this took me a while to figure out.

i have a fascination with zero-style attack that's been known to get me in trouble!

i spent a while building a limiter in "C" that merely set every sample to 77% of its max possible value. the waveform looks like a stick of butter.

please don't try to do that.

its a neat trick at parties though.

p.s. you will probably get better luck with a nice analog comp. digital comps tend to have a grainy edge, that while immediatly unnoticable at times, later in the mix it will show up.
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automate Plug In Preset Changes TwoPort Tips & Tricks 2 04-22-2009 08:45 PM
Plug-ins Preset Problem, Help! AudioPostChris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-27-2009 08:33 AM
Disappearing Plug In Preset Lists hearttimes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-06-2007 02:40 PM
Plug in Preset Website? andydadd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-22-2005 04:32 PM
Plug-in Preset Location Jumpthis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-23-2000 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com