Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2004, 05:27 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Midi drum pads

Hey folks,

I'm looking for good midi drum/trigger pads. I would love to get a sampler with pads (like the Akai MPC series) but I can't really afford it at the moment. Any suggestions?
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2004, 09:54 AM
neeel neeel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 293
Default Re: Midi drum pads

Stiff,

It depends on how good you want velocity information. I have a yamaha dd-5 and it has worked great for me. Bought them on ebay for £15. Made in the early eighties Issues with these

1. They only have a midi out port
2. They don’t retain settings when you switch them off
3. They only have 15 stages of velocity.

Good for bashing out a simple rhythm...but you will - as I nearly have - reach end game with them.

Yamaha offer, from about 1985, the dd-11, dd,12, dd-14, dd-50, and dd-55 all with midi capability. The dd-55 retails new for about £160...ebay for £100.This unit has way better velocity and sensitivity performance from the 7 pads. Might get one of these soon myself. Ultimately I want to get the Roland td-3 kit...Nice!!

Roland make some smaller pads too, like the spd-5 and spd-20 but these are a little bit pricier.

Hope this helps

neeel
__________________
MBOX MINI PTLE 8.0.3
MAC OSX Snow Leopard
Mac Mini 1.5Ghz Intel
2 Gig RAM
*******************
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2004, 10:11 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Midi drum pads

Thanks for your reply neeel!
I hadn't seen those before... I'll look in to them!

Anyone else?
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2004, 09:52 PM
daustin777 daustin777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 169
Default Re: Midi drum pads

Check out the Roland SPD-6 for an inexpensive solution. I forget how much I paid but it wasn't much.
__________________
David Austin
p4 3ghz, PT 6.4, XP, Digi002r, AMT8, Mackie Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2004, 10:01 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Midi drum pads

Thanks! I'm looking for pricing and info on them now.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2004, 04:15 AM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Midi drum pads

These are ok. http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/TD20SBK/
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2004, 09:20 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Midi drum pads

I bet they are... Will you pay for them?
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2004, 10:46 AM
Brain Digger Brain Digger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 344
Default Re: Midi drum pads

I have been using the Alesis D4 for recording and for mixing. Ie to fix tempo problems and high variability in the drummers velocity. Capture as a MIDI file and 'clean it up'.
__________________
XP Pro SP2
PTLE 7.4cs2-002R
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz
K8V-SE Deluxe 4G DDR400
Radeon 9200SE-128M
Maxt 80G; WD 200G
CG8 200G SATA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:02 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Midi drum pads

Thanks for your input Brain Digger
I thought that was rackmounted and didn't have any pads?

Well, how about drum machines with pads? I've seen some cheap (like Zoom) but I'm afraid to buy too cheap stuff
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YOUR FAVORITE MIDI DRUM PADS powerjoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-24-2004 08:59 AM
DRUM PADS powerjoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 05-22-2004 01:27 PM
Drum Pads Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-09-2003 04:48 PM
MIDI Percussion/Drum Pads Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-21-2002 08:06 PM
Roland drum pads pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-06-2002 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com