Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Old 08-24-2022, 10:01 AM

Default Distortion after bounce

Hello, newbie here. Yes, I'm still using PTF but gonna switch to artist soon.

My problem is when I playback my mixes in PTF they sound fine. When I bounce them and listen to them everywhere but my car (which has an aftermarket amp/HU) the mixes distort when I turn up the volume, theyre fine a lower volumes (again this is ONLY when playing in my car).

I bounce in 44.1k, 24bd, interleaved.

I have master faders in all my mixes with a simple limiter and nothing is clipping.

Any ideas?

P.S. The amp in my car has a much higher RMS than the aftermarket speakers I have (i wasn't super knowledgeable about it when I installed all of it) but no other music distorts when i turn it up full volume.
Old 08-24-2022, 11:54 AM

Default Re: Distortion after bounce

It's likely you're mixing too hot. Delete the limiter, then mix your tracks so the master fader level is below -0-, better yet, below -10 dbfs. Then re-bounce. If you need to tweak with a limiter, mix again and renounce.

Last edited by nsureit; 08-24-2022 at 12:35 PM.
Old 08-24-2022, 12:47 PM

If it sounds ok at lower volumes then the distortion isn't in the mix, it's in the car's audio system. And if other commercially-released track do not distort at higher volumes, then the issue is in the content of your mix. My guess is that it's bass-heavy, one of the most common killers in instances like yours. As you push your track in the car, the amp or speakers, or both, simply can't handle the workload, and you hear that as distortion.