Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Sync X & SYNC HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2023, 09:57 AM
EneMeneGratschik EneMeneGratschik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: -
Posts: 38
Default Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

Hi everyone,

I recently started working in an ADR mixing studio. While I'm pretty good with Pro Tools, I'm not really an expert in connection technology. The studio has multiple Avid devices: Sync HD, HD Omni, HD I/O and HD Native. I want to unterstand how they interact and if I really need all of them.
I attached a wiring schematic. Does that make any sense to you? The way I see it, the HD I/O doesn't seem to do much.

I'd appreciate your input.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wiring Schematic.jpg (29.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2023, 10:14 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18,956
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

If the HD I/O has nothing connected to (in addition to the DigiLink and clock loop cables) then it's not doing anything and you presumably could remove it if you want. But presumably it's there to use if needed, e.g. for larger ADR tracking sessions (the Omni has pretty limited I/O) so the question is really for the facility owner or coworkers.

Presumably you or others are actually using the Sync HD for video sync, so you need that, and you need its sync loop connections to the other boxes.

And even if you were not using a Sync HD you would likely want to use the Loop Sync for convenience.

I suspect you need to read up in the Sync HD and HD I/O User Guides about what these boxes do, especially the Sync HD box, and how loop sync works. PDFs available online.

A minor point, but your diagram could be clearer by marking DigiLink and USB as bidirectional connections.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-14-2023 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2023, 10:33 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

C24 connects to the Mac not the HD Native btw.

You need the SyncHD for ADR work. The Omni needs the HD Native which needs the Mac.

HD I/O is optional for extra I/O as Darryl said. It certainly doesn't hurt anything to have it available. Actually if you have headphone feeds, multiple talkback inputs, and a couple more for remote connections the Omni wouldn't be enough.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2023, 11:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,581
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

You have it all wrong.

First, as already said, C24 takes ethernet cable from your Mac.

Second, interfaces are connected to HDN so that first box (that connects to HDN from primary port to HDN port one) sends daisy-chain to second box (from expansion port to primary port). Then you connect wordclock cables to loop sync, not external clock.

A reminder, you can only have one OMNI in a system, so if you one day think your expansion problems are solved by grabbing another OMNI, that will simply just not work. But you can connect other interfaces to work with OMNI, that is not a problem.

Lastly, the Sync box. You need to include the box in your Loop Sync connections, without that it will not work.

Serial connector is useless in your workflow. You would use it with non-linear decks.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2023, 08:02 AM
EneMeneGratschik EneMeneGratschik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: -
Posts: 38
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

Thanks for your answers, guys. Thanks to you and a bit of reading in the manuals, I got a better understanding of what those devices do.
I double checked the setup and yes, the C24 ist connected to the mac, not the HD Native. And the HD Native's serial doesn't go to the C24, it goes to the Sync HD. The Sync HD, HD Omni and HD I/O are clocked via Loop Sync.

When looking at Avid's current products, I noticed that none of those devices are sold anymore. Am I right that the new products replace the old ones in the following way:
Sync HD > Sync X
HD I/O > MTRX II / MTRX Studio
HD Omni > Carbon (Pre)

What do you do if you don't have the possibility to use a HDX card in your system? Does the Carbon handle the DSP? Or is it only the Mac then? EDIT: Ok, i just saw they sell the HDX in thunderbolt chassis as well.

Last edited by EneMeneGratschik; 11-27-2023 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2023, 11:43 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,937
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by EneMeneGratschik View Post
HD Omni > Carbon (Pre)
This one is not true. The Carbon cannot be used as part of an HDX setup while the Omni can/could. That also means the Carbon can't be used with the SyncHD/SyncX for frame-edge sync.

The Carbon is a whole different platform away from digilink connected hardware.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2023.9, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.1RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2023, 11:51 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18,956
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

^^^ right.

And the HD I/O and Omni setup together would likely just be replaced with a single MTRX Studio or a MTRX II (with lots of IO card/config flexibility).

The MTRX Studio is more of a replacement for the Omni than the weird Carbon box. And it is also interesting outside of Digilink systems now it has the Thunderbolt connectivity option... but (the real point I wanted to add) you cannot go the non-Digilink route if using Sync X. Carbon is also not from DAD so does not support DADman, and once the DADman camel has its head in the tent... I doubt anybody would want to shoo it out.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-27-2023 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2023, 11:58 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,086
Default Re: Understanding SYNC HD, HD OMNI and HD I/O

This entire thread is akin to an airline pilot asking how the airplane works. 😂
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding Video and and AV sync MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 3 04-06-2022 12:12 PM
HD 192 I/O Sync with HD Omni studio12 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 02-29-2016 06:53 PM
set SYNC IO and OMNI asef@me.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 12-24-2013 06:19 PM
Sync IO OMNI HD Native asef@me.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 04-09-2013 06:50 AM
Understanding SMPTE, Sync, MTC, and Digibeta dcaudio Post - Surround - Video 5 10-03-2005 10:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com