Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2012, 05:08 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,082
Default OSX Lion optimization question

I know the recommendation, but does everyone really disable spotlight? On all drives? I haven't had an issue in 10.6.8 so far and PT9...

I have an older mac pro (1.1 Woodcrest) and I am road testing a new Lion partition with PT 10 demo and a loaned HD native card from my friendly dealers (Scrub) to see how it works in post as a cross grade from my HD3 in the brave new world

advice please wise mac sages....
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:48 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,593
Default Re: OSX Lion optimization question

I've NEVER disabled Spotlight and have no issues.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2012, 11:35 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: OSX Lion optimization question

I would imagine, when using the disk cache feature of PT10HD, the need to disable spotlight is even less of an issue. I always thought the point of disabling spotlight was just in case spotlight decides to start some indexing procedure on the drive from which PT is streaming your audio, possibly resulting in "disk too slow errors" if you've got lots of channels of audio and high edit density. But if your timeline is fully cached, all your audio is streaming from RAM and the only problem you could possibly run into is when recording loads of tracks simultaneously (while spotlight is indexing). This is all just conjecture on my part though!

G
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2012, 11:43 AM
meech meech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Default Re: OSX Lion optimization question

I've never found spotlight to be the cause of any Pro Tools bugs, error messages, or anything of the sort. Same with wifi, bluetooth, time machine, etc. I make sure to disable it all when I'm thoroughly troubleshooting something, but they have never once been the cause of a problem.
__________________
HD Native - Apogee Symphony I/O
Mac Pro 6 core 3.33 Westmere 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 10.2
OSX 10.7.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 02:24 PM
Newbie Question...Using PT 10 and OS X Lion jasonguitar macOS 7 01-17-2012 01:44 AM
Question About PT9 and Lion tomhartman macOS 0 11-16-2011 07:56 PM
System Optimization (OS 10.6) - question MKZ macOS 3 08-22-2011 02:22 AM
A Silly PT Optimization Question sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2007 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com