Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-12-2001, 07:07 PM

Default animation software for Digi001 user

Hello,

I am a Digi001/PT LE user, but this question relates to 3D animation software. I know this is the wrong place to ask about this, but I also know from reading previous posts that there are a lot of people here who are also into graphics and multimedia and I have had a really hard time finding out information about 3D animation programs.

I thought that maybe I could get other Digi001/Pro Tools LE users to help. I really want to create animation shorts with orginal music and audio created on the Digi001/PT LE system. I have no animation experience, and I have heard that some of the programs I will list are better for novices like me than others. I'm looking for a system with the right blend of power/performance and features which has a flexible and novice-friendly learning curve and will run stable on my dual 500 Mhz G4. I will be getting them at student discount so price comparisons are not a big issue.

The animation packages I am considering are:

- Electric Image Universe
- Maxon Cinema 4D XL
- Lightwave 3D
- Strata Studio Pro

I'm just looking for opinions on ease of use for learning beginners like me, overall power/feature set comparisions between the programs I have mentioned, and whether any are more conflict prone than others.

I may not get any replies, but I really want to know what some animators think about these applications, and I was hoping some fellow Digi001/PT LE users might be able and willing to help me.

Thanks,

Dave
Old 06-13-2001, 02:28 PM

Default Re: animation software for Digi001 user