Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:19 PM
patrick1307 patrick1307 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default In desperate need of help :(:(:(

Hello everyone
I have a big big problem.
I just bought a digi 001 and installed the pci card in my mac G4, but now my mac wont power up anymore!!!
The mac starts up when the pci card is installed, but as soon as i connect the pci card to the 001 unit, it powers of and wont start up.
how is this possible?
I already stripped down my computer completely and even disconnected the hard drive. so basically the digi 001 pci card was the only thing left in the mac (almost) But still it would not power up!! so i guess its not a conflikt with other detachable hardware.
I really do not understand what is going on.....

can someone pls pls help me.


my details...

Power Mac G4 Dual 1 ghz, mirrored drive doors.
2 X 512 Kingston RAM
80 Gig HD
Digi 001
OS X 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:40 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

You might need an older OS. Check the compatability pages.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:49 PM
patrick1307 patrick1307 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

thanks for ur reply, but i dont think this is a software issue.
Its purely hardware since the machine wont even power up.
I also already checked the compatibility pages, and it should work just fine.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:23 PM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

Just to be certain you're doing this righht.

The 001 should already be connected when you power up, you may have short circuited something.

switch off

connect it all up

switch on.

just like in the manual.
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:33 PM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

Absolutely! The 001 is most definitely not hot-swappable! It must be connected or disconnected while the computer is off. The 001 gets its power through the interface cable. Plugging it in while the 'puter is on may be causing a surge demand on the Power Supply Unit in the Mac which then says "Sorry, no can do" and promptly powers down. I'm just guessing, and hope you haven't damaged anything.
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:40 PM
yOkO yOkO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: aztekland
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

hey dude, you should contact digidesign dealer nearest you,
take your computer, then install in there and see it works,
may cost you but it might be better though.
the person you bought it from got it working?
__________________
so what
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:32 PM
patrick1307 patrick1307 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

hi everyone
thanks for all the suggestions so far.
the card works fine in another pc, so the card is not the problem.
also, i did connect the box b4 power up, but its no good.
the mac wonf t start up. im sure its some sort of short surcuit protection or whatever, i just dont know what exactly.


any more suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2005, 01:04 AM
clutch clutch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: wellington, nz
Posts: 457
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

It may be worth doing a reset on your logic board, zapping the pram and resetting the open firmware as a couple of options to try:

Turn off your Mac.

Reseat your Digi001 card. Reseat the cable to the Digi.

There will be a little back button somewhere on your logic board. It looks like a little silver square with a black dot in the middle. Mine is in one corner of the logic board but they are different on different models.
Push the button with a pen or something. Once. for about half a second.

Then close up your mac, and start it holding down option-apple-o-f
when the grey screen comes up type "reset-all" (without the quotes) and hit return.
The mac will restart.
Hold down option-apple-p-r until you hear the startup chimes 5 times (or your monitor flickers 5 or so time if you have the sound down).

That may do it....

Or maybe not too...
__________________
He used to cut the grass...he was a very nice boy...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:19 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

There was an issue with the motherboards in the early MDD G4's that didn't provide enough power to the PCI bus - this caused the exact symptoms you were describing, in that the machine would no longer power up, or ProTools would immediatly crash if you did manage to get it started up.

One fix that kinda worked was to move the system drive to the secondary ATA bus (the one towards the back of the machine) - i believe this helped some users, but not all. The real solution involves taking the machine to an Apple dealer and having them replace the motherboard. You're probably out of warranty, so it'll cost you a few hundred clams I'd imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:40 AM
patrick1307 patrick1307 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: In desperate need of help :(:(:(

hi guys
i already tried the pmu reset, but it didnt help.
it wouldnt work.
and about the drive, do u mean the hard drive?
would it help to switch that?
how do i do that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desperate luoneill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-05-2010 10:46 AM
desperate for help shaela Post - Surround - Video 1 04-12-2007 09:53 PM
NEED DESPERATE HELP PLEASE!!! thumbolt68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-14-2006 09:18 PM
Desperate Need of Help Sharritan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-21-2005 08:11 AM
I am now desperate! Please DUC - come through for me!!! winter20 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 11-30-2002 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com