Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2010, 10:24 AM
Eric L Eric L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 582
Default PT startup stalls at "setting up peripherals"

My main mix seat has been working flawlessly for two years. Suddenly, PT hangs on startup at "setting up peripherals". Well, it doesn't hang indefinitely, but it does stall for about 5 minutes. Other than this, the software operates correctly.

The system is an HD 3, on an Intel Quad 2.8, running PT 7.4.2 on OS 10.5.3. It has a C24 hooked up and a Midisport Midi IO for MMC and MTC to the other system.

I have trashed all prefs, digi setup etc. I have switched ethernet ports for the c24. I have disabled MMC and MTC in the peripheral settings. I have rebuilt the midi setup for the system. Nothings fixes it.

Logging on to the guest account does not reproduce the problem. It starts up fine on that side. So I think I can eliminate hardware and cable connections.

Sometimes when I go to the ethernet controllers tab and rescan the ethernet ports, two C24 options will appear in the drop down menu. One of them is in the "inactive italics" font. Selecting the other one, connects to the C24 correctly.

If I had to guess, it appears that there are some corrupt setting files somewhere. I just don't know where to go for this. Do I need to re-install the midi driver? Do I need to re-install PT? Even if everything works fine in another account on the same system, with the same exact settings?

Any insight would be appreciated. This is not a critical issue, but it is very annoying.
__________________
Eric Lalicata C.A.S.
Supervising Sound Editor
Re-Recording Mixer
Anarchy Post
1811 Victory Blvd
Glendale, CA 91201
818-334-3300
www.anarchypost.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2012, 10:04 AM
cwholden cwholden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: PT startup stalls at "setting up peripherals"

Same here.
The only thing I can recall doing is having a drive get delivered from an older system that had SYNC IO and CONTROL SURFACE- which I don't use. I copied over the session to my local drives and since then, my whole system stalls @ peripherals during launch. Same config as posted above.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2012, 10:25 AM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: PT startup stalls at "setting up peripherals"

I have seen this before.

Try reinstalling the PT update. I vaguely remember it fixing it for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2012, 12:07 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: PT startup stalls at "setting up peripherals"

Have you tried changing the order of the network interfaces in System preferences?

Move the C24 Ethernet to the top of the list. Can't remember how this appears in 10.5 but in 10.6 there's a Set Service Order option in Network panel.

C
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Crashes on Startup During "Setting Up I/O Paths" ChrisIQ Pro Tools 10 3 08-24-2013 05:27 PM
Protools LE 8 hang while "setting up peripherals" and while "loading tracks" xfarre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-22-2011 07:37 AM
BSOD on Startup - freezes when "Setting up MIDI" jervo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-22-2010 11:35 AM
"Setting Up Peripherals" Randomly Resets 003 Rack GordonFreeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-06-2009 07:05 AM
stalls at startup: "signing into OMS" ? gargamel Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-06-2001 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com