Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:05 PM
swethington swethington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 93
Default OLD retrospect backup - help??

This isn't strictly a Pro Tools question, so mods feel free to remove this if it's not appropriate (and my apologies if that's the case).

I recently discovered an old box of CDs and DVDs that contain backups of Pro Tools LE sessions I recorded from around 1999-2000 that were backed up using *shudder* Retrospect. For those who don't know, Retrospect wrote files in a proprietary format and then apparently abandoned that format at some point, making the backups useless on more modern computers as far as I can tell (oh hello SDII, fancy seeing you here!).

These aren't files for clients or anything critical like that, it's more that I'd like to recover these files for my own purposes but honestly don't want to spend the time figuring it out. They're probably the first songs I ever recorded for anyone other than myself on my then-fancy digi001 so it's strictly sentimental.

A couple hours going down an online rabbit hole of trying to figure out which version of Retrospect, what type of CD drive, what Mac OS, etc has turned me off so I thought I'd reach out and see if anyone here offers that kind of service. If there's any additional info I can provide please let me know, to the best of my knowledge these were from around 1999/2000 so probably Pro Tools LE 8-ish on some flavor of Mac OS 9, definitely SDII files.

I've found great tips here for recovering SDII files (which I'm positive will be my next step when/if I can recover the backups), so I'm hoping I might find someone more patient and knowledgeable than myself here who might be able to help.

Obviously willing to pay for the time if it's something I can justify, can anyone point me in the right direction?

Cheers!
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Ventura 13.3.1, Pro Tools 2023.3, Avid S1, UA Apollo Twin UAD-2 Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:57 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 834
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

Quote:
Originally Posted by swethington View Post
This isn't strictly a Pro Tools question, so mods feel free to remove this if it's not appropriate (and my apologies if that's the case).

I recently discovered an old box of CDs and DVDs that contain backups of Pro Tools LE sessions I recorded from around 1999-2000 that were backed up using *shudder* Retrospect. For those who don't know, Retrospect wrote files in a proprietary format and then apparently abandoned that format at some point, making the backups useless on more modern computers as far as I can tell (oh hello SDII, fancy seeing you here!).

These aren't files for clients or anything critical like that, it's more that I'd like to recover these files for my own purposes but honestly don't want to spend the time figuring it out. They're probably the first songs I ever recorded for anyone other than myself on my then-fancy digi001 so it's strictly sentimental.

A couple hours going down an online rabbit hole of trying to figure out which version of Retrospect, what type of CD drive, what Mac OS, etc has turned me off so I thought I'd reach out and see if anyone here offers that kind of service. If there's any additional info I can provide please let me know, to the best of my knowledge these were from around 1999/2000 so probably Pro Tools LE 8-ish on some flavor of Mac OS 9, definitely SDII files.

I've found great tips here for recovering SDII files (which I'm positive will be my next step when/if I can recover the backups), so I'm hoping I might find someone more patient and knowledgeable than myself here who might be able to help.

Obviously willing to pay for the time if it's something I can justify, can anyone point me in the right direction?

Cheers!
It appears the company is still in business. Have you thought about contacting their support? You may get further if you contact their sales department (as there is money to be made). I'm sure for a nominal fee they may offer some service.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 13.6.5 Ventura
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2024.3
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2023.11
UA Luna
UAD 11
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub

Check my Music out here:

Paul G YouTube

Paul G Bandcamp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2024, 06:36 PM
swethington swethington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 93
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

yeah they are still around, but I haven't contacted their support team yet. I did download a trial of their newest version but had no luck figuring out how to make it work. My experience with contacting companies about very old versions of their software has generally been poor (which is understandable, to be fair) so I thought I might have more luck here.
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Ventura 13.3.1, Pro Tools 2023.3, Avid S1, UA Apollo Twin UAD-2 Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2024, 12:52 AM
gugu gugu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 373
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

Hi,
I had the same problem some years ago and contacted them
I got the answer that even paying for the service, they are unable to read these old backups ....
I was really pissed off and had to throw dozens of retrospect backups of movies and shows from the early 2000's

gugu
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2024, 01:00 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 635
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

Quote:
Originally Posted by swethington View Post
This isn't strictly a Pro Tools question, so mods feel free to remove this if it's not appropriate (and my apologies if that's the case).

I recently discovered an old box of CDs and DVDs that contain backups of Pro Tools LE sessions I recorded from around 1999-2000 that were backed up using *shudder* Retrospect. For those who don't know, Retrospect wrote files in a proprietary format and then apparently abandoned that format at some point, making the backups useless on more modern computers as far as I can tell (oh hello SDII, fancy seeing you here!).

These aren't files for clients or anything critical like that, it's more that I'd like to recover these files for my own purposes but honestly don't want to spend the time figuring it out. They're probably the first songs I ever recorded for anyone other than myself on my then-fancy digi001 so it's strictly sentimental.

A couple hours going down an online rabbit hole of trying to figure out which version of Retrospect, what type of CD drive, what Mac OS, etc has turned me off so I thought I'd reach out and see if anyone here offers that kind of service. If there's any additional info I can provide please let me know, to the best of my knowledge these were from around 1999/2000 so probably Pro Tools LE 8-ish on some flavor of Mac OS 9, definitely SDII files.

I've found great tips here for recovering SDII files (which I'm positive will be my next step when/if I can recover the backups), so I'm hoping I might find someone more patient and knowledgeable than myself here who might be able to help.

Obviously willing to pay for the time if it's something I can justify, can anyone point me in the right direction?

Cheers!
Sorry, not too familiar with Retrospect, but let me check with older cases. For session back compatibility, this article might help! https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...ility/en353093
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2024, 06:27 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,606
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

CDs DVDs SCSI
Retrospect for Mac OS9. G3-G4
Retrospect did not cross into OS X smoothly.
For audio folks, OS 8 & 9 retrospect was king for Backups.

Start with a Mac G4 with retrospect version ?
Likely a scsi port or card to connect data-dat, CD-r …other

I imagine someone may have this setup.
(Record Co, Artist-archival)
T
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2024, 06:35 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,815
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

Retrospect was in such wide use with PT you'd think someone here would have a legacy system for this.

I'm not aware of any way around it.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2024, 08:38 AM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

I have access to an older version of Retrospect that we used for backups back in the 2000s. It's Version 6.1.126. running on a 1,1 mac pro on OS 10.6.8. Not sure if that would be compatible with your backups.

We ended up transferring everything off of the AIT tapes and on to hard-drives several years ago. So I haven't used retrospect in a long time. I've also never used it with CD's.

We have a few archival Pro tools systems PT5, PT7, PT10 and are pretty good at bringing sessions from the past into the modern era when we need to.

DM me if you want to discuss further.

Take care,
Jared
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2024, 01:50 PM
swethington swethington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 93
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

thanks for all of the info everyone, its much appreciated!

I remembered earlier today I have a buddy who is a bit of a hoarder and still has all of his old Macs. He has both a G3 and a G4 tower that still work so I'm going to pick those up from him tomorrow and give it a shot. I do have a copy of Retrospect 6 (point something, can't remember) so hopefully I can get something to work. Wish me luck!

If I can't get it to work though I'll be in touch Jared, you're exactly the type of person I was hoping to find here!
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Ventura 13.3.1, Pro Tools 2023.3, Avid S1, UA Apollo Twin UAD-2 Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2024, 03:11 PM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: OLD retrospect backup - help??

Sounds like a solid plan. Good luck! Let us know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new Retrospect now has cloud backup reichman Storage Subsystems 0 03-08-2016 07:07 AM
Off Topic Retrospect Backup HELP ! guitates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-12-2006 03:47 PM
Retrospect Desktop Backup. Need Help!! Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 05-08-2005 12:41 PM
DDS Retrospect Restore When Backup Was Done Elsewhere? Question Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-10-2002 11:02 PM
Retrospect backup problems Ask Otis General Discussion 3 03-29-2002 12:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com