Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:34 AM
dhjdhj dhjdhj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Can I vertically align all selected MIDI notes in one go?

New user to Pro Tools 10, coming from years of DP and Logic Pro experience. Getting up to speed fast (and really enjoying it) and just running into the occasional nit that I can't find answers for with searches or through looking at the PDF manuals.

So I discovered that by holding down the control key, I can align a MIDI note to the same position as another MIDI note that is already selected. However, that's a slow process and I'm wondering if I can easily align all selected MIDI notes to the position of the one on the top (or even better, after selecting a while bunch of notes, choose one of them and have all the others align to it).

When I tried selecting multiple notes and control-clicking on one of them, they did move but it was clear what rule was driving the move and they certainly didn't align under each other.

Thanks,
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2012, 05:59 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Can I vertically align all selected MIDI notes in one go?

Event Operations>Quantize.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2012, 07:12 PM
dhjdhj dhjdhj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can I vertically align all selected MIDI notes in one go?

I haven't studied all the possible MIDI operations available in Pro Tools but I had assumed that Quantize would align note events to a predefined grid (1/4 note, 1/8 note etc) but while I want notes to be aligned vertically, I don't want them moved to the nearest grid columm.

Am I misunderstanding the capabilities of Quantize in Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:45 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,586
Default Re: Can I vertically align all selected MIDI notes in one go?

Click on one MIDI note with the Grabber tool, then Win+Click on other notes you wish to move.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2012, 05:31 AM
dhjdhj dhjdhj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can I vertically align all selected MIDI notes in one go?

Yes, as i said in my original post, that's what I'm doing now (control-click actually, I'm on a Mac) but that's a very slow process as you have to click on every note individually.

I had hoped there was a way to put a marquee around a collection of notes and then control-clicking (say) one of them to make ALL the others in the selection line up at the same vertical position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just can't seem to get audio, click, and midi notes to all align on the grid. jgagne1 macOS 6 01-15-2014 12:16 PM
midi editor - changing selected notes to the same pitch.... mafiacondon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-25-2011 05:11 PM
> Selected Midi notes not evident Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-26-2006 10:32 AM
Affect Selected Notes With Pencil tool? Icemaster Tips & Tricks 3 11-26-2005 06:48 AM
Can align grid to different tempo after recording MIDI? el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-28-2001 08:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com