Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2011, 04:12 PM
JButera JButera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 23
Default SC48 User Partition Error

"User partition could not be found. Recommends System Restore" What would cause this? The console then boots up completely blank.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2011, 06:42 PM
Limelight Limelight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 148
Default

Hey Sheldon or service, need your help please on this one. Were in the middle of a show as we were able to load an ok how file from our jumpdrive after the console came up with a clear file. What causes this message and is the stability of this issue gonna get us through the next 4 hours?
__________________
Chris Hunt
McKinney, TX
SC-48 3.0/ ProTools 10 / Mac Book Pro 13" i7 / Limelightband.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2011, 07:27 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: SC48 User Partition Error

Hi guys,

The "user Partition" relates to the hard drive, but it's difficult to say exactly what the issue could be without further diagnostics. If you're up and running and the hard drive were to fail the console will kick into its backup mode, allowing you to continue to mix in a scaled back way - faders and mutes.

For urgent matters (like this!) feel free to call the support line at 650-731-6111.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2011, 07:08 PM
Limelight Limelight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 148
Default Re: SC48 User Partition Error

Hey Sheldon,

Ok, I got it home and started it back up. This time, it gave me several error messages telling me that critical components could not be started and asked me to try again or continue. After several attempts at each option it gave me, it never did start up at all. I re-installed to factory settings and now everything works perfect. I am very confused as to what would have caused this harddrive error to the extent of not being able to startup at all, but now after re-installing everything, all is fine. Does this sound like the typical hardware problem? System test shows all tests passed with no failures after console restore. Should I be concerned that this happen again? Could is be a faulty HD? Thanks!
__________________
Chris Hunt
McKinney, TX
SC-48 3.0/ ProTools 10 / Mac Book Pro 13" i7 / Limelightband.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2011, 08:02 AM
Limelight Limelight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 148
Default

Any help on this would be much appreciated. What would cause the console to boot up, give me a user partition error, startup with a clear console without any user saved anything, accept an old showfile and work fine. Then the very next day, when booting up, gave several error messages saying that critical components could not be found and would not boot up at all. A system restore worked perfectly and now I'm up and running just fine. Anyone had this happen? Thx.
__________________
Chris Hunt
McKinney, TX
SC-48 3.0/ ProTools 10 / Mac Book Pro 13" i7 / Limelightband.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 Multi User or Partition to run 2 DAWS? UMFM Windows 5 02-04-2014 09:58 AM
New SC48 User - Tips on configuration justinphilip VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 10-29-2013 06:14 PM
partition my drive or create a separate user for pro tools? wreckthisplace General Discussion 11 06-23-2007 03:12 PM
weird error when loading 6.9.2 after partition wreckthisplace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-03-2006 02:14 PM
Keeping the Same User folder for LE & HD Partition mwingerski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-18-2005 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com