Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2009, 07:12 PM
DeluxeReverb DeluxeReverb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 15
Default Turning a recorded click track into a grid?

I recorded several tunes with a drummer that preferred to use his own click. Now I want to do some editing that would be simplified if I could use a grid. What is the best/easiest way to use the recorded click track to set up a tempo map/grid in PT 7.3?

Thanks!
__________________
Strange Magic Studio
Nashville, TN
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2009, 09:20 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,923
Default Re: Turning a recorded click track into a grid?

Well assuming the click he used is steady and consistent you could use Beat Detective to calculate the tempo. Or you'll need some other program to calculate the tempo of the click, then put that tempo at the beginning of the click in PT. Then you can use the grid in PT. In my experience using metronomes outside of PT they seem to fluctuate a little so the beats may not line up to the grid perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2009, 10:07 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Turning a recorded click track into a grid?

1 method.

Select a bar of the click track (exactly a bar)
Ctrl I for identify beat, starts bar 1 beat 1, ends bar 2 beat 1
that will tell you what the tempo was.
then you can set your master session tempo to match.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:05 AM
Jon E. Jon E. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
Default Re: Turning a recorded click track into a grid?

Beat Detective is made to do this and does it in a fairly straight forward manner. I suggest reading the entire section in the Reference guide starting at page 535 (v7.3), extracting tempo maps is covered in painful detail starting on page 539. You may want to consider building a tempo map from your drummer's performance vs. the click he followed, then when you quantize you will align with his groove, a very neat Beat Detective trick...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2009, 03:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,644
Default Re: Turning a recorded click track into a grid?

Exactly...
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matching Grid to recorded time track gittar General Discussion 1 03-18-2014 12:54 AM
Grid Not Matching Recorded Click Track Jmel58 Pro Tools 10 12 12-25-2011 10:04 AM
click track is heard in recorded guitar track pearl_drummer Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 12-27-2010 09:55 AM
Turning Click Track into Audio File Davey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-24-2005 03:03 AM
Session click recorded, zomm in, it's way behind Bar grid point, move it? Jules Tips & Tricks 9 03-20-2000 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com