Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2023, 09:24 AM
christien christien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

I'm pretty sure I'm overlooking something obvious, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong here.


Working in a 5.1 mix, sending a mono dialogue track to a 5.0 delay aux, using a multimono instance of H-delay, as I want dry signal in C and delay in the other channels, but the delay is only sending signal to the centre channel. My send from the audio track is centre only, but it has to be so I don't get dialogue in other channels. What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2023, 10:36 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,251
Default Re: signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

Multi mono is just that. It operates on each mono leg individually (and returns individually so as not to interfere with other multimono processing on other legs.) Set up your delay aux as a mono channel sending to a 5.0 out (and then adjust the panning of the out.) Or use a stereo delay (not multimono) on a stereo aux but feed it the mono input and return it to your output channels as you wanted.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2023, 11:16 AM
christien christien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Set up your delay aux as a mono channel sending to a 5.0 out (and then adjust the panning of the out.)

I setup a new mono aux track, setup a new mono bus as the input and then sent it to my 5.1 output. But when I go to setup the delay, there's no option for multimono, I can only add a mono or mono/stereo delay.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2023, 11:40 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,251
Default Re: signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by christien View Post
I setup a new mono aux track, setup a new mono bus as the input and then sent it to my 5.1 output. But when I go to setup the delay, there's no option for multimono, I can only add a mono or mono/stereo delay.
That's correct. "multimono" appears only on tracks larger than mono. When it is a mono track, it's just "mono". If you are trying to create a delay on the center channel to go to L/R channels then you want mono/stereo and feed the stereo out to the L/R (while the bus is receiving input from C). If you want delays going to all 4 other channels, you need a plugin that supports that -- not multimono but mono/5.1 or mono/5.0 or mono/quad. Or you need to pan or bus the stereo delay return to 4 channels instead of 2.

Multimono means treating every leg of a wide channel width like they are a group of mono tracks. There is no correlation between each leg -- the plugin acts like a mono in to mono out track.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2023, 11:48 AM
christien christien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

Wait, isn't that exactly what multimono is for? So if I want dry dialogue to only come from the centre but I want the delayed dialogue coming from all 5, I can't use a multimono setup for that? I need a 5.0 or 5.1 delay plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2023, 12:44 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,251
Default Re: signal routing - mono audio to multi-mono plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by christien View Post
I need a 5.0 or 5.1 delay plugin?
If you want the plugin to be aware of the channel width, yes.
I have no idea what type of delay you are trying to create but if it needs to be aware of the channels it is routed to, it can't be multimono.

If you want to take the dry DIA in C and send it delayed to the other 4 channels, then mono aux bus, input from DIA, output 4.0 (L/R/Ls/Rs), mono delay insert, pan output to center of quad field (or wherever.)
But you only get the same delay in the 4 channels that way.

If you want a delay that works around the room, you need a plugin for that channel width or set up groups of delay (aux for L/R and aux for Ls/Rs, for instance.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6 multi mono plugin behaviour espron Avid S4/S6 1 10-28-2020 10:40 AM
Can only see L channel in 5.1 Multi Mono plugin Benny Mouthon Pro Tools 2020 6 10-26-2020 02:14 PM
Multi-mono Signal Generator TDM out of phase !!! mangoustine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-15-2019 04:53 AM
mono mode vs multi input mode in Audio Suite plugin? thenewnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-30-2009 06:58 PM
Multi Mono Plugin Problem hughwes Post - Surround - Video 5 05-17-2008 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com