Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2001, 10:36 PM
jon sutton jon sutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: kalamazoo
Posts: 205
Default building the beast

in an effort to separate my recording maching from my email, internet, goof-off machine i have spent hours pouring over the words of wisdom presented here.

i am left, however, with a few questions:

**the asus mobo seems to be the way to be but, what is the diff between an a7a, a7m, and a7v??? also what happens when you add an E to the end of the model number? if the fsb is 266 and the new p4 is 400 is the athalon setup still as quick?

**athalon, t-bird, xp, palamino, and xp t-bird (i swear i saw that today). what gives??

**memory. ecc, non-ecc?? what exactly am i looking for in ddr memory? beyone pc2100 ddr 266 what is all the other crap (184 pin, dimm ddr, 32x72, cl2.5??)

**drives... i was told recently that they had to match. that now seems to be a fairy tale. withour shelling out big jack for scsi drives do i need anything better than the maxtor 7200 ide that i have had for a year now? why are people buying 40 and 60 gig drives for the system drive that probably won't ever see a gig worth of info?

as you can tell, i am solid on.... the floppy drive and the video card! that leaves me about 761 miles from memphis. i do however, have a full tank and am ready to roll so please throw some wisdom my way.

thank you!!
__________________
-jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2001, 10:39 PM
jon sutton jon sutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: kalamazoo
Posts: 205
Default Re: building the beast

i also see tower/fan/a7v/1600 kits going for just over $300 (priceline.com). is this a decent place to start since we have already decided installing a mobo is a little intense the first time???

thanks again (and again and again)!
__________________
-jon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2001, 09:16 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: building the beast

Jon,
Complete answers to your questions could probably fill books...

1) Asus naming - does it matter really? Actually the AMV nominclature is for chipsets from different manufacturers. The -E seems to be onboard audio and RAID. You can check this stuff out on the Asus web site.

2) AMD processor names. Fun, huh?!? You can learn about this on the AMD site.

3) Don't worry, be happy. (And buy whatever your motherboard manual tells you to buy!)

4) Drives - I completely agree on the system drive comment. However, today it seems that most prepackaged machiens are coming with 40GB, so that's cheap. Don't buy SCSI. I used to use ATA for my audio drive, I now use 2 external 1394 drives. Love them. I can leave my machine on all day with my audio drive turned off. Come home at night and my data is safe safe safe. Love it.

Glad you have the floppy under control. There will be a test on video cards at the next class. ;-)

Have fun,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2001, 01:12 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: building the beast

Jon,
On the A7V266 VS. the A7V266E, they are different chipsets. The A7V266E is an enhanced version that runs on the KT266a chipset. It rocks. The A7M266 was a mixed chipset motherboard running on the AMD761 chipset. I've heard that AMD is planning on phasing this one out. Just heard it yesterday from PCMagazine source. The GA-7DX and GA7DXR also run on this AMD761 chipset.
The A7A266 is the one to stay away from as it has not worked with Digi001.

Hard Drives: For the price and performance, it is hard to beat the ATA100 7200rpm IBM 60GXP 60GB drives at www.newegg.com for 115.00 each.

Use 512 MB of PC2100 Micron DDR ram

Matrox G450 Video card

Nec 21" LCD Flat Screens (incredible for around 400.00)

Good luck.
Allen [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2001, 01:28 PM
B.Ray B.Ray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 900
Default Re: building the beast

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Allen Hallada:
...Nec 21" LCD Flat Screens (incredible for around 400.00)...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Please tell me where you saw this. I'll buy one today!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2001, 01:56 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: building the beast

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Allen Hallada:
Nec 21" LCD Flat Screens (incredible for around 400.00)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think he means $1400.- or just typed fast. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2001, 03:06 PM
jamieorc jamieorc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 76
Default Re: building the beast

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Allen Hallada:


Nec 21" LCD Flat Screens (incredible for around 400.00)
[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Dang! I wish!
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2001, 03:57 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: building the beast

I got that price from a computer magazine yesterday. I'll recheck it when I get home tonight. I thought that was way to low. You can get the 15" for less than 400.00 now, I know that for sure. Sorry for getting your hopes up.
Allen [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2001, 10:05 PM
jon sutton jon sutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: kalamazoo
Posts: 205
Default Re: building the beast

mark and allen- thanks a million for the input.

i talked to a couple of sales people today too.

i am set on the:

a7v266-e - does this come with onboard audio that i won't want???
athlon xp 1600 - do i need to look for palomino or is that now standard??

it looks like i am going to order a barebones kit - mobo, chip, fan (volcano 5??), and case for $339 - is this a deal???

then....

matrox g450 - nobody has brought up a better option and i like the two monitor option.

i remember allen posted a link to cheap memory, i guess i will get a 512 stick of 266ddr from there

as for drives, i don't know a damn thing about 1394 drives. are they cheaper than scsi drives? ibm scares me too, i just puked an ibm drive this summer. sounds like you can't beat that price though.

if i run raid do these drives need to match? my local built-by-nerds shop said they need to be IDENTICAL, some people even making sure they come out of the same factory. how will i know if they aren't taking advantage of the raid technology??

as for monitors, is there anything i should seek or avoid from a standard 17 inch monitor? i have a cybervision that has been great. how bout finding two dells or something of the like on ubid?

i think that is all of my worries on one page. if you think this is bad you should have seen me do car research before buying a month ago.

thanks again,
__________________
-jon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2001, 10:44 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: building the beast

Hey Jon,
You are definitely on the right path. I just saw that www.newegg.com also has Micron memory on sale now too, 67.00 for the 256MB of DDR PC2100 with shipping. On those IBM drives, the 60GXP is the newer version and have been much better performers than the older problematic 75GXP. Yes, you do need identicle drives for the RAID configuration, but I would just hook the hard drives up to the Promise ATA100 onboard controllers of that A7V266E motherboard and not use the RAID setup. Haven't seen any benefits using RAID with audio yet on the Digi001.
As far as sound goes, you can disable the sound in your bios of that motherboard, so don't worry about whether it has it or not. You can also disable it on the onboard jumpers during set of the motherboard.
Just a thought.
Allen [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a New Beast Voxer99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-11-2011 12:04 PM
Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!) Ian-H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-15-2006 05:30 AM
the beast know as Latency Reckah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-27-2005 10:15 AM
Will this beast work? X-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-09-2002 11:47 AM
G4-beauty, but the beast! voodoo55 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-02-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com