Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2000, 09:38 AM
brybry brybry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 6
Default 001 and G4\'s

I just purchased PTLE/001. I now need a computer ASAP. REALLY - Is there a significant difference between the performance of a G4 running at 400 versus one running at 450? Is the difference going to be my being able to open extra plug-ins? Like, on average, how many? Is it possible to get a clear answer on this? I'm planning on going with 192 or 256 mg RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2000, 03:25 PM
damaged-nerves-musician damaged-nerves-musician is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

I just bought the dual processor Mac 450 Mhz. I'll let you know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2000, 09:06 AM
DPM DPM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 92
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

Hi All,
I've read 1000 threads on this too and can't find a straight answer. Can anyone please just list how many tracks they get and how many plug ins they get with what type G4 they have (350, 400, 450, 500). PLEEEEEEEEEASE!!! I am gonna by a G4 within the next week or so and don't want to blank myself!

Thanks, I love you man (woman)!
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2000, 09:57 AM
AntGarg AntGarg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Harrisburg, PA 17112 (USA)
Posts: 62
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

I have a G-4 500 (Single Processor) with 512 RAM.

I'm getting 24 tracks with anywhere from 20 to 25 plug-ins. (Ren EQs, MaxBass, True Verb, Auto-tune, Meta-Flange etc.)

I can tell I'm getting near the limits of my CPU though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2000, 10:20 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

..and I get about half of that on a G4/400.

There IS no straight answer - too many variables.

------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2000, 11:36 AM
The Patch Chord The Patch Chord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cameron, Mo.
Posts: 160
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

LW said...
There IS no straight answer - too many variables.

LW is right on this one. We use a G4 450 single, 512 meg ram, 60 gigs of ata hd. Just finished a HUGE Christmas cd project that took us right to the limit & beyond. Hit the red several times, but with some creative sub sessions (thanks DUC members for suggesting that) we were MORE than able to deal with huge numbers of drum & alt percussion tracks by using EQs, comps & verb plugs in a seperate sub session, then bouncing over.

Extra step sure, but let us really get what we wanted rather than compromise on plugs in a big 24tr 24bit session. It could have quite easily been done on the 400 mhz machine as well.



------------------
C Ya, Stan
Good - Fast - Cheap
Pick Any Two
__________________
C Ya, Stan
www.thepatchchord.com
Good - Fast - Cheap >> Pick Any Two
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2000, 11:46 AM
DPM DPM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 92
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

Hi Stan,
Really appreciate your insight. I do know there are work arounds to get what you want, and there are many variables to all computer configurations, etc. Don't want to make anyone mad, but all the threads on this get off the track of what folks like me are looking for. Just would like to know the max tracks you can get, max plug ins, and what type of G4 you have. You gave some great advice but left off max track and plug in # for your machine. Not trying to be sassy just want to see what folks are getting on their machines and this will help folks like me to purchase, regardless of workarounds.

Appreciate you all!!!
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2000, 02:33 PM
DanXx DanXx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 73
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

Hi,

I have heard, and seen in benchmark tests, that the difference between 400 and 450 MHz (single procs) is very little. Between the 400 and 500 MHz however, it is much bigger!

So you do NOT get 12,5% more speed with 450 MHz (it's less), but you DO get about 25% more speed with 500 MHz !!

And BTW: the hard disk is equally fast on both machines, making the difference in performance even smaller. Yes, lots of variables!

Good luck, Dan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2000, 12:32 AM
esymons esymons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 42
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

I have a G4 400, 320mb of ram. I can always get 24 tracks no problem. I've recorded up to 13 tracks at one time using the light pipe and an Alesis A13. I haven't tried to record more. Plug in counts depend on the plug-ins in question. I rarely have a problem but I normally only use 1 reverb and 4-5 eq's. You are lucky that there are people willing to share info and their time posting to this forum for free. Don't spite the hand that feeds you (which is a nice way of saying something ruder...)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2000, 12:44 AM
DPM DPM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 92
Default Re: 001 and G4\'s

Thanks to you all so far!!! I thought my message conveyed my humbleness. I will try to convey it better. Once again I am not trying to be rude and I do appreciate all the advice!!! Just trying to make my best decision based on what I see that you all have and what your getting with it. I have been recording for 20 years, and do and will post my advice for free also.

Most Humble,
Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New G4's Flosstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-21-2002 12:53 AM
New G4's and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this? edhamilton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-12-2002 12:34 AM
New G4's when???? roberts General Discussion 3 10-05-2001 04:27 PM
New G4's(466/566) w/PT v5.0.1 themaskedman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-28-2001 08:39 PM
pt le and new g4's usinare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-10-2001 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com