Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:44 AM
steve3186 steve3186 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default M-Powered 7.1 Demo

Hi all

OK, I am looking into getting Pro Tools but I want to check it out first. I have been using Logic Pro for about 4 years now, but I am working more and more in studios and I really need to get to grips with Pro-Tools.

I am trying to run this demo on

Macbook 2.4 Ghz
4GB Ram
Internal Drive (Mac OS Extended Journaled)
M-Audio Firewire 410 (Latest drivers)

The problem I am having is it will not let me open a new session. It is coming up with the error must be on audio record volume. I have been searching the forum for around 2 hours now but I have not found any real answers that work. I have tried...

"Delete Pro Tools preferences.
-Go to Users > “your user name” > Library > Preferences
-Delete 'com.digidesign.protoolsLE.plist', 'DAE Prefs' (folder), 'DigiSetup.OSX' and 'Pro Tools preferences'.
-Empty trash, then restart the computer.

Repair Permissions
-Quit Pro Tools and launch Apple's "Disk Utility" application, located in:

MacHD>Applications>Utilities.

-Select your boot drive (the whole drive, not the volume underneath the drive)
-Go to the 'First Aid' tab and select "Repair Disk Permissions"

Apple recommends doing this any time you install new software, update your OS or reinstall any software.

Databases and Volumes

This step can be useful when receiving random 'assertion' or 'neoaccess' errors, especially when recording or saving.

-Delete the Digidesign Databases folders on the first level of all mounted hard drives, then delete the "Volumes" folder in MacHD > Library > Application Support > Digidesign > Databases.

-Empty trash, then restart the computer."


That failed to work.

Do you have any other suggestions or will this demo just not work on OS X 10.5.8?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:01 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: M-Powered 7.1 Demo

You need at least PT 7.4.2 to run on intel and Leopard 10.5.3+

best
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:21 AM
steve3186 steve3186 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default Re: M-Powered 7.1 Demo

Ah... That will be it then!

Is there a demo of this version anywhere that you know of?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT M-Powered V.8 Demo? micahman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-15-2009 02:43 PM
M Powered Demo CD AdamKurutz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-26-2009 10:58 PM
M-Powered 7.3 Demo for XP? Ryan Ferris Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-10-2007 03:43 PM
M Powered Demo for OS X 10.3? withneil Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-24-2007 09:19 AM
M-Powered Demo? steinny Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 11-25-2006 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com