Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:21 PM
VChile123 VChile123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

I'm curious what kinds of results people are getting with sound editing to picture with the new MacBook Pro. Specifically:

-What kind of track counts are you getting?
-What's your Quicktime file size and resolution?
-Is it running smoothly with heavy volume automation?
-What hardware are you using?

I'm using an MBox with an old Mac laptop and it's very clunky. Time to get a new laptop and possibly better hardware, but would be good to hear about other's experiences before I drop thousands of $$$$.

Thanks
Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2008, 04:13 PM
guitarmongoose guitarmongoose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 161
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Well except for the top of the line Macbook Pro, the new Macbooks don't have any Firewire ports, which I think almost rules them out for use with Pro Tools. If you get the top of the line MB Pro, I don't think you'll have any problem with decent track counts on your system. Of course I can only dream about affording one right now so this is just conjecture.
__________________
Brad Semenoff
Sound Editor

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2008, 11:20 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,371
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Let's not over generalize. If someone is using a USB based system like the MBox MBox2, Mbox 2 Mini, etc, The new Macbook and Macbook Pros should have not problems running Protools. It is the Firewire interfaces only that may need a solution.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:30 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Don't forget your external "firewire harddisk' That you'll need!!!

Tuur
__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:05 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,371
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuur View Post
Don't forget your external "firewire harddisk' That you'll need!!!

Tuur
Good point. I was too focused on the interface that I forgot to consider the need for the separate audio drive. Hmm therefore it does look like the new base Macbook is not adequate for Protools. The new Macbook Pro may still work if we can figure out the Firewire 800 solution.

I am seriously looking at getting the previous 15" Macbook Pro with both the FW800 and FW400 ports. I can live with slightly slower graphics, non block of aluminum case, and the mercury and arsenic in my non instant full brightness display.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:51 PM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuur View Post
Don't forget your external "firewire harddisk' That you'll need!!!

Tuur
hello people. i've run a fw400 drive off my fw800 port with an adapter , just for fun , over the years , and it doesn't seem to cause any problems.
though , of course , we are talking digi here...
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:30 PM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: New MacBook Pro Good for Sound Editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuur View Post
Don't forget your external "firewire harddisk' That you'll need!!!

Tuur

Well, I have used firewire drives for god knows how long but I have to be honest, I have worked on projects on the road with many tracks off the internal and have never had a problem. I'm not saying that you should buy a macbook (I do video too so I need the firewire) but lets just say that if Protools was just a hobby, you could get buy without firewire.

I always thought it was funny that I have been able to run Ableton and Logic with huge track counts without problems. Sometimes I thing Digi throws worst or optimun case scenarios. Not everyone needs to use all 32+ tracks and heavy plugs.

IMO...
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing In Macbook Pro daveydave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-26-2009 01:26 PM
Need good program for editing sample johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-10-2007 02:36 AM
Anyone know a good score editing app for PTLE tombliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-07-2006 04:07 AM
Is Pro Logic any good at editing on a Powerbook ? fifty8th1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-25-2005 09:44 AM
good drum editing or T.E.C. software?? oneamazinkid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-27-2004 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com