Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:27 PM
Ian-H Ian-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 35
Default Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!)

Digi have taken a lot of stick over performance lately. I was bitching about my new Quad not working as well as I'd hoped, but I'd overlooked one or two of the optimisation settings. This thing is now an absolute BEAST. It eats audio for breakfast. The DaveC test disappeared into its belly - I ran Test 12 (32 audio plus 108 aux - at all 3 levels according to the latest test) and the CPU meter didn't flicker over 50% - didn't even bother to try more, but it clearly could go a lot further. My powerbook 12" could only manage about 14 audio tracks.

I've had sessions where I stuffed Reason 3 and Live 5 (with loads of stuff going on in both programmes) into a really fully ProTools session and then just littered as many plugins around (the heaviest ones I have - verbs, compressors etc) as I could and the machine just eats it all up.

So... there is good news on the performance horizon. From my experience, if you're thinking of getting a quad - now may be the time. I know a lot of people have had various problems, but I'm beaming right now! What we're all looking for is machines that seamlessly allow you to express your creativity without fighting the box - and it seems like I may have found that!

adios
Ian
__________________
>> www.ianhenderson.co.za
G5-quad/4.5GB/10.4.3/LE 7.cs2/250GB sys/320GB audio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:03 AM
Undertaker Undertaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 53
Default Re: Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!)

Ian - what plugins are you using to 'stress' your cpu? - what reverb? what optimisation settings did you overlook? - at what level in the Pro Tools system usage meter can you get to with some sort of stability and at what buffer size?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:25 AM
football2 football2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!)

Yes, please tell what optimization setting you overlooked. Maybe I missed doing one or two and I can get better performance as well.

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:30 AM
Ian-H Ian-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 35
Default Re: Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!)

I had all the energy saver stuff set right, but hadn't set the processor performance to "highest". I can run sessions with really heavy Reason 3 arrangements (loads of combinators, maelstroms etc) and Live 5 arrangements (dozen tracks of samples or more), and then all 32 audio tracks with dozens of D-Verbs and Bomb Factory compressors. Really, a massive session, with no problem at 1024 samples buffer. At 512 there's not much difference, at 256 it sometimes reports a USB error, and then runs fine - but generally I have to lighten the session a little. But 1024 for mix-down is fine.

Buffers are still not great on the M-Box. This was a temporary solution anyway - I'm hoping there's a killer 003 announced this week - I can't really justify an HD rig at this point.

On the DaveC test I'm not sure what the top end is - I stopped at 32 audio + 120 aux, as the computer was showing no signs of strain, and I couldn't be bothered to go on.
__________________
>> www.ianhenderson.co.za
G5-quad/4.5GB/10.4.3/LE 7.cs2/250GB sys/320GB audio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a New Beast Voxer99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-11-2011 12:04 PM
the beast know as Latency Reckah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-27-2005 10:15 AM
Will this beast work? X-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-09-2002 11:47 AM
building the beast jon sutton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-17-2001 10:44 PM
G4-beauty, but the beast! voodoo55 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-02-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com