Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2022, 12:04 PM
Matit Matit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2
Default CPU constant overload with M1 Mac

Hi there,

Through my many-years experience with Pro Tools I've always been able to find a solution for my problems on this site - since today. I hope I didn't missed any alike thread.

I've changed my home set-up for 2020 Mac Mini with M1. I got my newest Pro Tools and stumbled on this thing - every time I try to open any older session my CPU usage goes up to 100%. Even disabling all the plug-ins doesn't lower the usage. Moreover after opening any older session the usage remains at 100% even after closing it or creating a new one. Of course playback doesn't work at this point. I've tried it on 2021.3, 2021.10 and 2021.12 versions - every time the same story.

Did anyone have similar issue? I don't know if the fact that's new M1 fancy thing has to do anything with this but after reading tonnes of "astonishing PT performence" M1 reviews I'm getting little resigned at this point. Thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Zrzut ekranu 2022-01-26 o 20.29.51.jpg (20.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:43 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,372
Default Re: CPU constant overload with M1 Mac

Are you running Big Sur 11.6, 11.6.1, or 11.6.2? Or are you running Monterey? Currently Protools seems to work with Big Sur running under Rosetta2 but Monterey is not currently certified yet and many users are reporting issues.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2022, 03:13 PM
Matit Matit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2
Default Re: CPU constant overload with M1 Mac

Sorry, forgot to mention, Big Sur 11.4.

After some time of troubleshooting I found out that the MAGNETIC and MAGNETIC II from Nomad Factory were causing that problem. Other plugins like ECHOES or COSMOS seem to work fine with that setup. Issue solved, thank you for quick answer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2022, 04:22 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: CPU constant overload with M1 Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matit View Post
Sorry, forgot to mention, Big Sur 11.4.

After some time of troubleshooting I found out that the MAGNETIC and MAGNETIC II from Nomad Factory were causing that problem. Other plugins like ECHOES or COSMOS seem to work fine with that setup. Issue solved, thank you for quick answer
Yeah I was going to say in the old days it was almost always an out-of-date / incompatible plug-in that caused the 100%. I remember going through a phase where Sans-amp was really terrible for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constant CPU Overload Cayce Pro Tools 2020 7 01-19-2022 02:10 AM
constant CPU error overload!!! clintusmaximus macOS 1 12-06-2012 04:17 PM
Constant CPU Overload and DAE 35 Error AlissaAudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-20-2012 03:49 PM
Constant CPU overload errors!!! maxxdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-09-2010 10:27 PM
Constant CPU Overload!!! Really annoying!! Help!! listenhard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-12-2009 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com