Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2006, 01:33 AM
TekNeek TekNeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default @%*&!!! STILL GETTING THE ASSERTION ERROR

I got a reply from Bmkarls on this issues with the instructions to delete a few wave chach files, preference files, and volume files. yet im still having issues with bouncing my audio to disk. still getting this error after PT playsback the track before converting

Could not complete the bounce To Disk Command because Assertion in "\Code\aztec_stanley\AlturaPorts\NewFileLibs\Ff\Au dio\FF_Aud" line 33


any ideas!?!?

i followed all the instructions below. what happened was that since i had to delete the DAE folder in "common files" i lost sum plugins that were in use by m projects so when i started up PT it told me that the plugins were nowhere to be found. wat i did was remove all the other folders "inside DAE" except the plugins & plugins settings folders so i could bounce the tracks with all the effects i used.

please help. i think i now have 4 days before i have to get these tracks to the radio station. LOL. its funny coz ive done 2 tracks with no hassle, bouncing and all. im wondering if its some setting i might have accidentally tampered with.

sum1 plz holla bak asap
__________________________________________________ _____________________________________________

this is the procedure found at http://www.sweetwater.com/expert-cen.../d--06/09/2006 :

What to do if a bounce to disc fails in Pro Tools
06/09/2006

Occasionally Pro Tools will give you the following error message when it fails to bounce your files to disk: "Could not complete the Bounce to Disk command because Assertion in FF_AudioProperty.ccp, line 33." There is an easy fix for this when it happens, which involves trashing the Pro Tools Preferences and Digidesign databases.


For Windows XP:

Deleting Digidesign Databases:

1. On the root level of every mounted hard drive, go into the Digidesign Databases folder and delete the "Volume.ddb" and "WaveCache" files.

2. Go to: My Computer > C: > Program Files > Digidesign > Pro Tools > Databases > Volumes. Delete all of the files in this folder (they will have very odd names).


Trashing Preferences:

1. Go to: My Computer > C: > Documents and Settings > (your user name) > Application Data* > Digidesign. Delete the file entitled "ProTools...v6.x Preferences.PTP" (this may be either Pro Tools LE or TDM, and any version, such as 6.4 or 6.9).

*If the Application Data folder is not there, go to: Tools (in the menus at the top) > Folder Options > View, and select "Show Hidden Files and Folders."

2. Go to: My Computer > C: > Program Files > Common Files > Digidesign > DAE. Delete the entire "DAE Prefs folder."


Empty the Recycle Bin after trashing preferences and/or databases.

Restart Pc.

Start PT and Bounce !

__________________________________________________ _____________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2006, 03:53 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: @%*&!!! STILL GETTING THE ASSERTION ERROR

Bruce Hayward (The Weed) has already given you a valid response (with a workaround) in your first post. Perhaps you didn't follow and/or read the link? If not, I'll copy it for you here:
Quote:
In one case, trashing databases and preferences fixed the issue and bounce performed successfully

- Try adjusting the length of the bounce (make the selection longer or shorter).

- If the DAE buffer is set to level 8 in Setups > Playback engine, try reducing this value to level 4 or level 2.

Workaround:
Bus the tracks to a new stereo track, record the session in real time, then export the new 'stereo' files using the Region Bin's Export Selected command.

These are valid suggestions that will get you over the problem you are having.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2006, 09:09 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: @%*&!!! STILL GETTING THE ASSERTION ERROR

This error is usually caused by changing the DAE Playback Buffer to 'Level 8'. Changing it back to Level 2 should allow you to complete the bounce.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2006, 12:05 AM
TekNeek TekNeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: @%*&!!! STILL GETTING THE ASSERTION ERROR

Hi, I tried reducing the buffer and increasing it, still doesnt work.

Sorry for the silly questions but could someone instruct me on how to use the workaround method to bounce my audio to disk via the region export function.

thanx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion in....Error GMFx macOS 15 01-05-2018 11:48 AM
Pls Help, Assertion Error.... earshatter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-26-2012 12:48 PM
Can't complete request- assertion error and wmTDM Flag error crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-25-2009 03:56 PM
Assertion Error-HELP! Matthewnyms 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2007 07:19 PM
OMF Import error Assertion Error 4044 DUCHUNTER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-08-2005 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com