Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2022, 11:34 AM
DerrickC DerrickC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Hello! Not sure if I have missed this discussion, but I just noticed that on March 17, Monterey 12.3 is now officially supported on PT 2021.12, requiring only 2022.2 Avid plugin update. (See attached compatibility chart.) Has anyone tried this combination? Is it stable? I wish to update to Monterey 12.3 to take care of universal control. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg C27DD444-56E1-43C3-A7B3-E753DF07CF48.jpg (52.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2022, 03:25 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 718
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerrickC View Post
Hello! Not sure if I have missed this discussion, but I just noticed that on March 17, Monterey 12.3 is now officially supported on PT 2021.12, requiring only 2022.2 Avid plugin update. (See attached compatibility chart.) Has anyone tried this combination? Is it stable? I wish to update to Monterey 12.3 to take care of universal control. Thanks!
Yes, but before you just upgrade, double check all your drivers for your 3rd party interfaces, etc, and 3rd plug-in's.

For example, UAD is not Monterey compatible yet.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 12.3.1 Monterey
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2022.4
EuCon 4.8.3.29 / 2021.10.1.29
UA Luna 1.2.6.2515
UAD 10.0.0
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.15
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2022, 03:32 PM
persen persen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 52
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Monterey 12.3 working fine here with UAD
Pro Tools 2021.12
__________________
MacBook Pro M1 (13-inch, 2020)
16 GB RAM
PRO TOOLS STUDIO 2022.5
UAD Apollo 8p + Twin Solo + Octo Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2022, 05:37 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,589
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

My UA OX is working fine under Monterey.

And in fact almost everything works fine, with the exception of a couple of Exponential Audio plugins (Excalibur, R4 & Nimbus), the older iterations of SSL Duende plugins (pre-V2 -- the ones that do not have "Native" in their title), and a couple of AIR instruments (Loom 1, Structure 2 and Transfuser 2). Everything else seems to be working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2022, 05:51 PM
JamesG602 JamesG602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 31
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Just loaded up a new Mac Studio Ultra, Monterey 12.3, with protools HDX, seems to be working well so far in my tests!
__________________
Mac mini 2018 i7 32GB RAM
Protools 2020.12 Ultimate
HDX 1
HD Native
HD Omni
HD 8x8x8
Artist mix
S1 with IPad Pro 12.9 gen 2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2022, 06:23 PM
audiogamble audiogamble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 75
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
My UA OX is working fine under Monterey.

And in fact almost everything works fine, with the exception of a couple of Exponential Audio plugins (Excalibur, R4 & Nimbus), the older iterations of SSL Duende plugins (pre-V2 -- the ones that do not have "Native" in their title), and a couple of AIR instruments (Loom 1, Structure 2 and Transfuser 2). Everything else seems to be working.
Do you have Exponential Symphony and Stratus? Do those work?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2022, 07:37 PM
epmi epmi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Yes, but... PT is still not "Native", and i believe it shows in certain processes (exporting video etc.)

in Activity Monitor, Pro Tools 2021.12 still shows up as an Intel app.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2022, 10:08 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,589
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogamble View Post
Do you have Exponential Symphony and Stratus? Do those work?
I don't have those but I do have Phoenix and R2 and both load properly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2022, 04:54 AM
glasswing glasswing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver Island b.c. Canada
Posts: 185
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesG602 View Post
Just loaded up a new Mac Studio Ultra, Monterey 12.3, with protools HDX, seems to be working well so far in my tests!
I get mine mid April - 128 RAM/2TB HD. Maybe you should start a new discussion and keep us all up to date. I think there are a LOT of soon to be Mac Studio owners here. How much RAM are you using? I'm curious about your setup. Thanks!!!
__________________
Mac Studio Ultra / 128 RAM/2TB HD / Avid HDX Chassis / 2 X Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe Thunderbolt Docks w Samsung 970 EVO Plus (6TB) / Avid C24 / Avid 16X16 I/O Analog / Lynx Aurora 16/16 1/O Analog / Dangerous 2 Bus / Benchmark ADC1
www.glasswing.com
www.richardsales.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2022, 07:35 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,416
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported!

Quote:
Originally Posted by epmi View Post
Yes, but... PT is still not "Native", and i believe it shows in certain processes (exporting video etc.)

in Activity Monitor, Pro Tools 2021.12 still shows up as an Intel app.
Yes. There are no claims that it is native yet. Protools 2022.12 is the same application that was available. It just got tested and certified as "compatible" to run in Monterey, but it is still Intel code running under Rosetta2. The good news is that it seems to be running pretty well from most reports with a few plugins still causing issues. We need to give credit to the developers of Rosetta2. At some point we are all looking forward to a native application but that takes time to rewrite everything for a different processor and architecture.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.5 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox3 pro MacOs Monterey SIP suggested Madsvigeholm macOS 5 12-28-2021 09:25 AM
Worth buying Artist Control now that not no longer officially supported? ryanbrubacher Artist Series 0 08-03-2021 01:22 PM
So when is Core I7 support officially going to be supported ? chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 07-21-2009 01:47 PM
Is 10.5.6 Officially supported? docbop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-14-2009 12:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com