Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-30-2012, 02:02 PM

Default looping regions not tight with 10.1.2

wow, I have been using tools for over eight years and never noticed this until 10.1.2 (HD software but using CoreAudio) under OS X 10.6.8:

I usually create a click track on a stereo audio track by placing one sidestick on each beat of a bar, region group that and loop it until the end of the song.

now when I look at the last click on the grid it is off by a couple of milliseconds (and the ones before as well of course).

The same happens when I duplicate the one bar region group throughout the song.

Is this a known bug or could someone please see if this happens on their system as well, I would really appreciate it, because it is driving me nuts, really!
Old 04-30-2012, 03:10 PM

Default Re: looping regions not tight with 10.1.2

This happened for the last 3 versions too.. 7, 8, 9 and now 10.

I used to know the explanation.. something about sample rounding and such... The fix/workaround is to be aware of it and check to make certain you are starting your clips in the right place each time...

It's a stupid thing to have to watch for but there it is..
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Old 04-30-2012, 03:21 PM

wow, I always thought the PRO in ProTools was for professional
anyways, thanks for the advice, I really don`t want to know how many bands have received "bad" click tracks from me over the last year, haha. Truly, I never noticed until today because there were preproduced drums that started flamming on the downbeats.

I have had an issue in the past where the builtin click instrument was definately not tight, so since then have decided to move over to an audio click.