Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:37 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

in protools 7.4 I'd position the blue marker at the top of the screen, then position the first red marker say 3 seconds after it, to show the start of the recording, then the final red marker to position the end of the recording.

eg:


x (start player) | (start recording) blah blah blah | (end recording) blah blah blah

In protools 8 I can only get blue markers in play mode, and red markers in record mode, I can't figure out how to set a playing start point and then highlight the record section, or even how to just play say 3 seconds of the track then drop in recording in pro-tools 8.

This was straight forward in 7.x but I'm not getting it in 8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:48 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,725
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Darcy View Post
in protools 7.4 I'd position the blue marker at the top of the screen, then position the first red marker say 3 seconds after it, to show the start of the recording, then the final red marker to position the end of the recording.

eg:
x (start player) | (start recording) blah blah blah | (end recording) blah blah blah

In protools 8 I can only get blue markers in play mode, and red markers in record mode, I can't figure out how to set a playing start point and then highlight the record section, or even how to just play say 3 seconds of the track then drop in recording in pro-tools 8.

This was straight forward in 7.x but I'm not getting it in 8.
This should happen if you adjust the pre and post roll in the transport.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do incredible things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:51 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

interesting, I'll look at that now.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2009, 11:17 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

sorry to be dumb on this, but I can't see the settings in pro-tools 8 where are the pre/post settings ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2009, 02:08 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utica, New York, US
Posts: 344
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Darcy View Post
sorry to be dumb on this, but I can't see the settings in pro-tools 8 where are the pre/post settings ?
In the Transport Window.

Choose "Window>Transport." See page 134-137 in the PT 8 Reference Guide.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2009, 02:29 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

perfect, thanks for the help/reference guide,
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2009, 01:31 PM
djmichael.london djmichael.london is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles / San Antonio
Posts: 161
Default Re: How to play X seconds before record Protools 8

another way to give yurself a head start..

from where you want to start recording click and place the cursor on that starting point of that track, make sure of course its enabled. then hold down options and click on the track where u want it to start playing as a pre. then hit f12 to record or cmd spacebar whatever u use.
__________________
MichaeLondon

Mac : IMac 3.0 ghz/OSX 10.6.8/Mbox Mini/PT 7.4.2

DAW : Pro Tools 7.4.2 - Mbox Mini

www.myspace.com/michaelondon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't play or record in Protools 10.2 bryanu Windows 3 10-16-2012 02:16 PM
Pro Tools frezees on 2 seconds after hit play anweiss Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-19-2010 02:43 AM
PT react very slowly to play (up to 10 seconds !) ronfya 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-12-2006 03:37 PM
Record delay about 3-5 seconds in protools for osx Janvy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-24-2004 07:09 AM
Protools always freezes upon play/record Ale Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-10-2001 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com