Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2008, 08:25 AM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 545
Default external talkback mic for D-Command

how do you connect an external mic for talkback on a D-Command?
__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:02 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default

one of the multiconnectors on the back of your X Mon is called TB/LB Util.

The first input on this multiconnector is for External Talkback use.

So ...

Your external mic ---> external pre amp in ---> external pre amp out --- external talkback mic input on the X Mon.

(you of course need a 25 pin to XLR split to connect to your Xmon ... )


From this point on you treat the external talkback exactly the same as the internal one. In other words ... you assign the talkback to a cue send for example and you engage the external talkback switch in the monitor section instead of the internal one.

Now when you press your talkback button things get routed from the external talkback input. Set levels etc etc ... make the artist happy and there you go ...
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:50 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,579
Default

Chris, why the external preamp? I've got a 57 plugged right in and it works perfectly.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:57 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Chris, why the external preamp? I've got a 57 plugged right in and it works perfectly.


hmmm ... really ? never tried that ...

I was thinking condensor ... phantom ...

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:28 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,579
Default

If it's like the listen mic inputs, they have phantom already. I have a cheap Cascade mic plugged directly into the Listen Mic input and the X Mon powers it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2008, 09:58 PM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 545
Default

thank you chris, it will be a big improvement over the internal one
why is it so bad...?
__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2008, 02:43 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

Is the built-in talkback mic really so bad that people doesn't use it? What is the problem?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:43 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default

Well ... the internal talkback isn't exactly the quality you would expect if you would buy a very expensive german microphone like a Neumann or a Schoeps or something like that. I would think that makes sense.

The purpose of a talkback mic is to establish a communication link between the Control Room and wherever else you need to be communicating to ... the tracking room for example.

Now ... How 'good' do you need that mic to be right ?

Good enough so you can be understood on the other end and silent enough so it doesn't bother the people on the other end.

And that is the 'problem' with it I think. It's quality is good enough ... people understand you on the other end and the signal is clear.

It is the background noise that seems to bother people in some situations.

That tiny little internal microphone seems to be VERY sensitive. And it needs to be. I tend to kinda compare ot to a listenback mic setup. They are tricky to conveniently set up as well ... usually heavily compressed and gated with an attack at the speed of light so it closes off fast enough when the drummer hits something so it doesn't blow the woofer of your speaker right at your head.

It seems to be worse in rooms that have 'hearable' airco's for example. The talkback mic seems to pick those up quite easily. I have a Super Silent airco installation in my room and yet I can clearly hear the difference between the airco being switched on or off.

A computer fan in your room ? Forget it ... it will sound like the engine of an airplane on the other end. Unless you have an extremely quiet room the internal talkback is always going to be noisy,

Now all that said ... friend of mine has an SSL Axiom ... think it's much better ? .... think again .... same deal : noisy room ... noisy talkback.
I remember using A Neve VR some time ago ... same story.
I used to have a Yamaha O2R ... sjeez ... those were earbleeding sharp eve in a silent room.

To some extend it IS inherent to internal talkback systems. Could it be better ... Yes, I'm sure it could be and hopefully at some point it gets improved.

Most people I know have an external / less sensitive mic set up and even in those situations ... I've seen them high pass the signal before going to the cue signal to filter out some rumbling noise from the room.

You kinda have to set your treshold for these things imvho : if your room is prone to a certain amount of background noise coming from computers / Hard Discs / Airco's and other stuff that adds up to the ambient noise floor level of your room then you may probably have to consider setting up an external tackback system. Either that or move everything that makes that noise into a Machine Room. It does make a HUGE difference.

Even if digi at some point would change something, make it less sensitive or change the mic or whatever ... it is never going to 'sound' like your U47 with VF14 going through a Neve 1083 or something like that ... No Way ...
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:57 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

Thanks a lot for the thorough explanation, Chris. Very informative.

Well, I don't need the mic to be "stellar", but it is fairly important that those working with me are happy. The only noisy thing in the control room is the 192-interface + the constant humming from the Rhodes MK-80. I'll just have to wait and see, I guess.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:34 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,579
Default

What Chris is trying to say is... they used a crappy mic when they designed the ICONs, simple as that.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command Talkback via Cue Out CRefino ICON & C|24 2 05-22-2013 09:06 AM
Two Talkback Switches on D-Command nickmurphy ICON & C|24 2 05-07-2007 02:23 PM
D-Command Talkback Question PTGuy ICON & C|24 1 02-15-2006 10:11 PM
D-Command Int. Talkback PTGuy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-14-2006 03:09 PM
Command |8 Talkback Section? swimfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-20-2004 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com