Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:46 PM
oscillations oscillations is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default New talkback mics for D-Control

We swapped out the internal T/B in the D-Control. Early Icon users may remember the muffled, unclear sound the mic (cardiod) originally had. We were sent a new one that is omni and also supposed to sound a lot clearer. Anyone else notice that if you push it past -27 (the first segment on the encoder!) that it's super loud? Some joker left it turned up the other day, and I tested the talkback (thankfully BEFORE the session) and practically blew my ears out!

So if you've got one and haven't installed it yet, watch out! Otherwise it is definitely an improvement.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:59 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: New talkback mics for D-Control

argh .... , thanks for the warning. We haven't installed ours yet but were going to one of these. I'll remember to check this.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:39 AM
vactastic vactastic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Default Re: New talkback mics for D-Control

We got ours, and it was a great improvement. One thing to watch for...some early models have the TB connector flipped, so you have to switch the pins around on the new TB harness. There are instructions that come with the new one. Just keep an eye out.

j
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:03 PM
Igotsoul4u Igotsoul4u is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 95
Default Re: New talkback mics for D-Control

Is this a new mic from Digi or an outside vendor? Where can I get one? The original sounds horrible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:00 PM
oscillations oscillations is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: New talkback mics for D-Control

Quote:
argh .... , thanks for the warning. We haven't installed ours yet but were going to one of these. I'll remember to check this.
Let me know if you have the same issue. I didn't do the swap myself, I've just been using it the last couple days while assisting on a project and noticed it is LOUD.

It is still definitely an improvement as long as you don't go to turn up your monitors and accidentally increase the talkback level!

So, Vactastic, aside from the swapped pin order, have you had loudness issues with the talkback as well? Or is it just me?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:38 PM
soundasleep's Avatar
soundasleep soundasleep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas, Earth (mostly)
Posts: 37
Default Re: Speaking of Talkback.....

Any recs for a new wireless talkback switch for restless producers? RF/IR/the force? My ancient Brainstorm just doesn't work like it used to. Plus, I'm spec'ing out a new Icon room, and I'd like something designed (maybe) in this milennium. I searched the DUC w/o result. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Reverb is a lie.



soundasleep@pobox.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:48 AM
oscillations oscillations is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: Speaking of Talkback.....

I've been using an old brainstorm remote with great success. Could there be a wiring error in the transceiver's jack, maybe? Another problem i see often is people a) don't point the remote in the general direction of the transceiver, b) they don't always hold the button down the whole time. But most of the secret seems to be in placing the transceiver where it will pick up the remote without people having to think about where they point it, because even when you tell them, they don't

I would check the wiring, and look for interference (maybe the transceiver is on top of unsheilded speakers, etc, i dunno). In any case, it should work.

EDIT: also, when you say it doesn't work like it used to, I assume that it does work sometimes (i.e. you have set up the Footswitch pref. correctly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can BOTH internal & ext. talkback mics be active? nerdlinger ICON & C|24 2 09-10-2011 04:43 PM
C24 newbie question 2 talkback mics Nathan W. ICON & C|24 0 05-18-2011 10:32 AM
Linking Listen Mics with talkback? Great Divide Studios ICON & C|24 12 10-08-2007 11:27 AM
Control 24 Talkback problems CraigLearmont Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-23-2005 07:47 AM
Talkback mic on the control 24..How to.. trelobas ICON & C|24 2 08-29-2003 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com