Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2017, 11:08 AM
mikeymacuh mikeymacuh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minatare, NE
Posts: 4
Default Installation problems

[Running windows 7 64 bit professional on Dell optiplex 7010 with Intel core i7 3.40GHz, 16gb RAM and 1TB HHD, I ust got this computer it is the 3rd one since trying to get started with PT this one meets all the required to run PT. I went through and changed the setting recommended on the optimization lists before trying to install PT 12.7.1, download and unzip seem fine, I open install PT and it installs Pace License Support then a box pops up with (quoted below) and then when clearing it it seems to install Avid Cloud Manager, Avid Application Manager and Avid Codecs with the box coming up between then when the box saying preparing to install comes up again and clearing it this time closes all but the main install window and nothing more happens. I check the installed programs the four programs show along with C++ updates that install just prior to Pace installs. I have tried uninstalling these and starting over several times including reloading through several different browsers but the same box pops up and install never happens I even tried with PT 11 same problem. Please help I am now nearly $10k USD into this between interfaces, control surfaces and new computers. I wish I had not purchased the eqt first I had no idea getting the software to run was going to be this big a problem, but now I own a C24 and interfaces I have to make this work. I am starting to fear none of this is worth the effort]

Error text copied directly from box that pops up

"Windows ® Installer. V 5.0.7601.18896

msiexec /Option <Required Parameter> [Optional Parameter]

Install Options
</package | /i> <Product.msi>
Installs or configures a product
/a <Product.msi>
Administrative install - Installs a product on the network
/j<u|m> <Product.msi> [/t <Transform List>] [/g <Language ID>]
Advertises a product - m to all users, u to current user
</uninstall | /x> <Product.msi | ProductCode>
Uninstalls the product
Display Options
/quiet
Quiet mode, no user interaction
/passive
Unattended mode - progress bar only
/q[n|b|r|f]
Sets user interface level
n - No UI
b - Basic UI
r - Reduced UI
f - Full UI (default)
/help
Help information
Restart Options
/norestart
Do not restart after the installation is complete
/promptrestart
Prompts the user for restart if necessary
/forcerestart
Always restart the computer after installation
Logging Options
/l[i|w|e|a|r|u|c|m|o|p|v|x|+|!|*] <LogFile>
i - Status messages
w - Nonfatal warnings
e - All error messages
a - Start up of actions
r - Action-specific records
u - User requests
c - Initial UI parameters
m - Out-of-memory or fatal exit information
o - Out-of-disk-space messages
p - Terminal properties
v - Verbose output
x - Extra debugging information
+ - Append to existing log file
! - Flush each line to the log
* - Log all information, except for v and x options
/log <LogFile>
Equivalent of /l* <LogFile>
Update Options
/update <Update1.msp>[;Update2.msp]
Applies update(s)
/uninstall <PatchCodeGuid>[;Update2.msp] /package <Product.msi | ProductCode>
Remove update(s) for a product
Repair Options
/f[p|e|c|m|s|o|d|a|u|v] <Product.msi | ProductCode>
Repairs a product
p - only if file is missing
o - if file is missing or an older version is installed (default)
e - if file is missing or an equal or older version is installed
d - if file is missing or a different version is installed
c - if file is missing or checksum does not match the calculated value
a - forces all files to be reinstalled
u - all required user-specific registry entries (default)
m - all required computer-specific registry entries (default)
s - all existing shortcuts (default)
v - runs from source and recaches local package
Setting Public Properties
[PROPERTY=PropertyValue]

Consult the Windows ® Installer SDK for additional documentation on the
command line syntax.

Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Portions of this software are based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group."

Last edited by mikeymacuh; 03-09-2017 at 11:09 AM. Reason: forgot to add the error box text
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:06 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: Installation problems

Hi mikeymacuh,

After those initial required installs have occurred, are you giving the installer enough time to prepare for installation?

Have you tried to re-download the installer?

Are other programs installing correctly?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:08 PM
mikeymacuh mikeymacuh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minatare, NE
Posts: 4
Default Re: Installation problems

I let it sit for over an hour and nothing happens, I have restarted the whole process this afternoon and will be leaving for a few hours with the set up window open after the preparing to install self closed, I will update when I get home if anything changed while I was gone. thank you

Last edited by mikeymacuh; 03-09-2017 at 12:11 PM. Reason: include more information
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,709
Default Re: Installation problems

What interface, and did you already install the interface driver BEFORE installing Pro Tools(the preferred order)? If your interface connects by Firewire, note that the onboard FW controller on any Dell might be incompatible(solution; add an approved firewire card for $50)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:50 PM
mikeymacuh mikeymacuh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minatare, NE
Posts: 4
Default Re: Installation problems

Yes, I installed the Mbox mini g3 drivers before hand, and did on this computer as well, I haven't received the rack 003 yet and wont need to set that part up until I have PT up and running and am comfortable with the software.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2017, 12:56 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 634
Default Re: Installation problems

This is a Windows installation problem. Quite a few threads on Google about Windows installer 5. Have a look here.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...5-e2d503298a65

A possible workaround would be to get a Win7 SP1 installer disc off ebay and re-install the operating system, or return the computer.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 457.30 - 2 x Internal Samsung 860 EVO SSDs, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 17.0b9 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2017, 07:34 AM
mikeymacuh mikeymacuh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minatare, NE
Posts: 4
Default Re: Installation problems

Other programs have installed fine so I am pretty sure that not it and if it is it should be covered as I just bought it. But I will look into it either way thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2017, 08:03 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Installation problems

A quick word of warning when dealing with firewire. DO NOT HOT-SWAP THE FIREWIRE CABLE!!!! Turn off everything first. Failure to do so fries the firewire controller chip in the interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation problems Justin1980 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-06-2008 08:40 AM
Installation Problems MikePhilippov 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-14-2006 02:04 PM
XP installation problems, need help. DigitalAnalog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-11-2002 04:01 PM
Installation problems Kristbjorg Kari 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-16-2001 08:20 AM
Installation Problems - Please help. 911Turbo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-24-2001 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com