Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2021, 07:11 AM
James Lugo James Lugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 71
Default Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

I went to 2021.10 a few weeks back and it ran well for a week or so and then all of a sudden it stopped seeing my HDX card. Is this what I am to understand that .10 doesn't support an HDX card anymore? I find that mind blowing. Someone on a forum spoke about running .10 with the .7 HD Driver which I finagled in and it worked ok but then I started having issues with that so with the help of Sweetwater I just went fully back to .7 and protools is running well but my Native Instruments infrastructure with the S61 and Komplete is now not supported and having issues. To say I am maxed out with all if the is an understatement. I'm falling behind at work with all the downtime and tech time. Does anyone know the solution?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2021, 07:41 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 417
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

My HDX card is working fine on the mobo so from my experience I can say it's not PT 2021.10.
I don't use an expansion chassis. My HDX card is in the 2nd slot on my z490 Vision D mobo and a UAD2 octo card is in the 3rd slot. My GPU is in the 1st slot and my 4th slot is unpopulated.
Though I been using my HDX card in Hybrid mode on Windows10 for awhile, I decided to hackintosh my system and now PT is running as good and in some cases better in macOS 10.15.7. With that being said I'm focused on learning the macOS environment. As of the last 2 weeks I rarely switch over to Windows10 to run PT for the moment, I stay in macOS.
I said all that to say PT HDX was working just fine for me in Windows10 and if I didn't want to downsize and incorporate PT Carbon in my system I would still be using Windows and my HDX card.

Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2021, 07:59 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 417
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

I assume you did this but I'll suggest it anyway. Did you uninstall your HD driver and reinstall 2021.10 HD driver?
Power down your pu, disconnect your expansion chassis restart your cpu and PT, quit PT and power down your system and reconnect your expansion chassis and restart your cpu and check if your cpu sees it now?
Re-seat your HDX card in the expansion chassis? If your expansion is of the PCIe connection type, try a different PCIe slot on your mobo or re-seat the PCIe card. My HDX card wouldn't work in the 3rd slot on my mobo.
I'm suggesting cause anything is a possible cause for your issues in the PC environment (lord knows I've had my issues over the years).
Also did you install some new hardware recently. If so remove it and see if that solves the problem. When I installed a second UAD2 card in slot 4 of my mobo it causes issues with HDX and how PT operates from time to time. Once removed PT operated better then ever in Windows10 for me.

Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2021, 08:01 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Lugo View Post
...Is this what I am to understand that .10 doesn't support an HDX card anymore?...
Don't know where you heard that, but FWIW there's plenty of HDX rigs running on 2021.10 without issue (including mine). Zero info on your system, so difficult to speculate.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2021, 08:54 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,370
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

You might want to follow this thread as it seem to have information that might apply to your situation.

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417610
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2021, 05:40 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 417
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
You might want to follow this thread as it seem to have information that might apply to your situation.

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417610
Read your website and realized you're on macOS...my bad. Follow what he says.
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2021, 06:20 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Is anyone having issues with 2021.10 and an HDX card in expansion chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Lugo View Post
... Is this what I am to understand that .10 doesn't support an HDX card anymore? I find that mind blowing. ...
That is not true at all. HDX is the standard in the pro studio world.

We are running quite a few systems with HDX cards both in external chassis and in internal PCI slots with the latest PT.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 11.6.6
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: Host card for Digidesign Expansion HD chassis (pcie ethernet card) topdiggy2 Buy & Sell 0 02-04-2015 08:22 AM
Any 7.3.1cs4 issues with Expansion HD chassis? rockwald Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-01-2007 09:24 PM
some Digi HD Expansion Chassis Issues minister Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 34 02-12-2007 01:33 PM
Issues with expansion chassis not recognized GoButtonGuy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-05-2007 03:52 AM
Expansion chassis and latency issues with VI's ?? edhamilton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-13-2006 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com