Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:40 AM
Johnny Dabbler Johnny Dabbler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default PT won't launch in Main User account Mac

Hi All,

PT 2018 will not launch in my main user account but will in a secondary account on my Mac Pro. Tried everything Avid support suggested but with no resolution. Is there a way to migrate one user account to another?

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 12:26 PM
Johnny Dabbler Johnny Dabbler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: PT won't launch in Main User account Mac

I repaired the permissions on my system drive from Terminal and was able to launch Pro Tools successfully. Avid support had not suggested that but I followed a hunch.

John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 02:05 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: PT won't launch in Main User account Mac

What OSX are you running? Near as I know the last OSX to allow repair permissions was Sierra.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2019, 06:42 PM
Johnny Dabbler Johnny Dabbler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: PT won't launch in Main User account Mac

I’m running Sierra and had to do it through Terminal.

John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2019, 04:20 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: PT won't launch in Main User account Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Dabbler View Post
I’m running Sierra and had to do it through Terminal.

John
Thanks for that info. I did that once on my 2012 cheesegrater running Sierra and it caused me headaches. Thankfully I was able to recover from that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to link Avid Master Account with iLok account "Failed to access the User ID" jburik1176 Licensing & Accounts 31 09-21-2015 04:12 AM
Pro tools LE 7.1 won't launch from new user account Mairead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-03-2007 08:25 AM
LE 7.3 doesn't launch under my main user. Daniel Betancourt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-23-2007 08:49 PM
ProTools won't open in my main account JohnRover 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-18-2006 06:27 AM
won't launch on one user account, will on another Mark Dann 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-11-2005 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com