Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2014, 01:55 PM
John McDaniel John McDaniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 609
Default FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

Can anyone parse this in terms of the AAX vs AAX DSP issue? What's between the lines here? Simply unwilling to take on the task or truly impossible?

Quote:
We've just completed a careful investigation of AAX-DSP, and our unfortunate conclusion is that at this point, it's not possible to do a simple port of our native plug-ins to AAX-DSP.
Our plug-ins use advanced and complex processing techniques that don't translate well to the somewhat limited resources provided by the HDX cards (both CPU and memory-wise). Making AAX-DSP versions would only be feasible if we would recode the processing from scratch, and even then we're not sure we could match the features and audio quality in the native plug-ins while also allowing a decent number of instances per chip.
In other words, native systems are massively powerful nowadays and our plug-ins have been designed to take full advantage of these possibilities. This is great, but makes it harder to scale them down to a more limited architecture.
So for now, we will not start working on AAX-DSP versions of our plug-ins. Perhaps in the future if the HDX platform becomes more powerful, we might reconsider. We will of course continue to develop and improve our AAX-Native plug-ins including 64-bit support in the near future.
Cheers,
Frederik (FabFilter) - Apr 2, 2013
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2014, 02:17 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

What happened:

Quote:
We did a cost-benefit analysis, and have come to the conclusion that DSP is not worth the R&D.
Then the spin:

Quote:
DSP is less powerful than native, so our decision actually benefits you!
My takeaway:

As long as they continue to improve their plug-ins, CPU footprint will presumably decrease. FabFilter Plug-ins are pretty effin' great, and I don't think lack of DSP is a dealbreaker for many FabFilter customers.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2014, 02:23 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

Obviously willing or they would not have researched it.
What FF's I have work great in 11.

Not impossible but not going to happen.
Seems to be a pretty clear description above.

The combo of Native and DSP is a win win for single card users.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2014, 02:29 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,601
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

That comment was 11 months ago.

I wonder if his thoughts have changed knowing that 11,000 HDX systems have now been sold?

Either way, it's a pretty hard dig on Avid's choices with regard to chips, infrastructure of HDX.

I translated it to, we're happy servicing the HUGE native market and aren't interested in making headway into high end post or music.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2014, 02:48 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

There are plenty of options for people that need AAX DSP plug-ins. For what Fab Filter charges for their plug-ins there are lots of AAX DSP ( and they sound better too) options that cost far less than the FAB Filter plug-ins.
I have demo'd FAb Filter McDSP & Softube blow FF away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2014, 03:35 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

That Saturn plugin looks really cool. Oh well, hopefully Sound Toys gets into the AAX DSP market. FLUX has some good DSP plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2014, 06:01 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,461
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I translated it to, we're happy servicing the HUGE native market and aren't interested in making headway into high end post or music.
Exactly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
There are plenty of options for people that need AAX DSP plug-ins. For what Fab Filter charges for their plug-ins there are lots of AAX DSP ( and they sound better too) options that cost far less than the FAB Filter plug-ins.
I have demo'd FAb Filter McDSP & Softube blow FF away.
Exactly.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2014, 06:02 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 530
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
There are plenty of options for people that need AAX DSP plug-ins. For what Fab Filter charges for their plug-ins there are lots of AAX DSP ( and they sound better too) options that cost far less than the FAB Filter plug-ins.
I have demo'd FAb Filter McDSP & Softube blow FF away.
One mans..... I think Fab Filter are among the very best, including support and training videos. I have and like McDSP too.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2014, 06:53 PM
Peter Duemmler Peter Duemmler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Neuwied, Germany
Posts: 786
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

I love the Pro-Q, best UI I have seen for an EQ and it sounds great IMO.
Timeless is VERY deep, a nice addition to Echoboy and H-Delay.
__________________
http://www.merlinsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:28 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,431
Default Re: FabFilter's comment on AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I translated it to, we're happy servicing the HUGE native market and aren't interested in making headway into high end post or music.
I'd wager that every "high end" post and music house is incorporating native plugins to some degree. How DSP number-crunching makes anything high end is beyond me. FF works fine as they are and, given the task involved in transcoding, they're content leaving them that way. As am I.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added FabFilter's Pro-DS De-Esser jeffro AAX Plug-ins 0 10-05-2012 09:30 AM
Fabfilter's Volcano compatible with M-Powered??? realitypoint Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-23-2007 07:21 PM
Comment my mix please! jeronimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 03-20-2002 10:05 AM
Can somebody comment on my PC? please Bjorn Arnason 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-31-2000 07:48 AM
Any Comment ? Ian Greaves General Discussion 0 03-15-2000 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com