Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2012, 01:19 PM
Fyenamuzik Fyenamuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3
Exclamation Sustain pedal not working with pro tools 10

Hi y'all,

I have a little problem with my pro tools at the moment. although I plugged in the pedal to the right place, plugged USB to my macbook correctly (on light), on my midi controller and checked ticks on the MIDI-> Input filter and input devices, when I press the pedal it will just 'mute' instead of blurring the sound. How should I make this work?

For Midi controller I use Akai MPK 88, pedal is YAMAHA FC3 and audio interface I use is M-audio fast track.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2012, 01:27 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Sustain pedal not working with pro tools 10

Sounds like it's plugged into a controller pedal port and not a sustain pedal port.

If that's not it, then you're going to have to figure out how to make the MIDI controller send sustain pedal data from the pedal instead of mute data. I would actually try a different sustain pedal first, Yamaha pedals tend to be a bit wacky when not used with Yamaha keyboard in my experience.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2012, 01:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,978
Default Re: Sustain pedal not working with pro tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMcK View Post
Sounds like it's plugged into a controller pedal port and not a sustain pedal port.

If that's not it, then you're going to have to figure out how to make the MIDI controller send sustain pedal data from the pedal instead of mute data. I would actually try a different sustain pedal first, Yamaha pedals tend to be a bit wacky when not used with Yamaha keyboard in my experience.
Yup. I think Yamaha pedals use opposite polarity on their sustain pedals.

You want a weird one for sustain pedal use in a VI? Check out NI's Vintage Organs. That's the one they have now instead of B4-II; it also has Farfisa and Vox Continental models. On the B3 emulation the sustain pedal is setup by default to control Leslie speed which is also controlled by default by the mod wheel on a MIDI controller.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2013, 02:15 PM
Fyenamuzik Fyenamuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sustain pedal not working with pro tools 10

Sorry for late reply, you guys helped me a lot it is now working. In the beginning the pedal worked if I don't press down the pedal and if I press down it stopped which is the.. other way around but now it is working fine.
Thank you so much for the help
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2013, 03:26 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,978
Default Re: Sustain pedal not working with pro tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyenamuzik View Post
Sorry for late reply, you guys helped me a lot it is now working. In the beginning the pedal worked if I don't press down the pedal and if I press down it stopped which is the.. other way around but now it is working fine.
Thank you so much for the help
You had a pedal with reverse polarity - some pedals have switches to flip the polarity and sometimes things can be reversed by software. Would be interested to know what you did to get it working.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sustain Pedal Not Working Numi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2009 01:34 PM
Sustain pedal not working with Mini Grand Gothboy Virtual Instruments 0 06-22-2009 10:31 AM
midi sustain pedal not working in pro tools le 7.4.11 protoolsle123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-24-2009 04:50 PM
midi sustain pedal not working in pro tools protoolsle123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-14-2009 01:31 AM
Sustain pedal not working - Reason to PT LE totemspock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-12-2004 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com