Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2009, 03:02 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 564
Default 2 region mute problems (Feature request?)

1. I can not see the Mute status of Regions that are Offline. There are situations where I want to see if those regions would be vital to the mix, or muted anyways.

2. Group some regions, cut the region group into some clips, mute some of them. When you un-group, all the regions are NOT muted (not inheriting the mute from the group).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2009, 03:06 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,719
Default Re: 2 region mute problems (Feature request?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Rost View Post

2. Group some regions, cut the region group into some clips, mute some of them. When you un-group, all the regions are NOT muted (not inheriting the mute from the group).
To me that´s the correct behaviour. The group is not to transfer it´s own mute-state to the regions contained in the group when you remove the group. The muted group is a feature of the group not the contained regions.

The hole point about the group is that it preserves the status of the contained regions.

Example: I often have a section of a film that has a combination of muted and active region. Sometimes I want to quickly mute the whole section (while recording ADR for instance) but keep the combination of mutes and active regions inside the group even if I slice up the group. The group is the only way to do this and it wasn´t possible before Digi introduced region groups. In a way it´s sequence handling for the poor PT user.

Later when I want to return to the original state I simply remove the group and I have all my original status back.

If the muted group transfered the mute to ALL the content of the group I would never be able to remember how that section has originally ment to play back. In a way ungrouping would destroy my original arrangement in that moment.

To sum it up: I think the current way is correct.

Think of he group as a mini-session within the session. Would you want all of the mutes in that minisesseion to change when you temporarily ungroup? Personally, I don´t.

Maybe there are situations where you want the group to transfer the mute state to the content of the group when ungrouping so an option to "inherit" the mute when ungrouping could be a comprimise. Additional short-cut for ungrouping maybe?

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:42 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 564
Default Re: 2 region mute problems (Feature request?)

Hey Frank,
it's perfect for the way you use it, and I use it that way myself. I use it the other way when fine-timing, say, some VO sections or background clips that are already cleaned-up and edited. It makes the dragging around easier. In come the edits and mutes. ...Maybe I have to think about keeping down my usage of region mute for editing anyways...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Region based varispeed - feature request Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-10-2009 04:11 PM
Feature request - selectable audio region fade in/out length digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 04-21-2009 03:17 AM
Feature request : right-click audiosuite on region Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-10-2007 11:06 AM
Feature Request: BeatDetective Pre-Region Pad s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2001 11:10 PM
Feature request: Region Name(s) to Track Name(s) s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-11-2001 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com