Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2006, 08:25 PM
Rodgre Rodgre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

I just found out the hard way that the 002 doesn't automatically mirror Analog 1+2 to S/PDIF output like the 001 did.

Not only does it not automatically do it, but it makes it a PITA to set sessions so they will do it.

So I'll spare you my irritation that I'll have to reroute outputs on all of my current sessions in progress, and leave Digidesign with the simple question: Why? What was the reason to take a useful feature OUT of the upgrade from a 001 to a 002? I can't be the only engineer that has relied on this feature for their main output for Pro Tools LE.

I'm sort of doubfounded at this.

Roger

www.tremolo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:13 PM
danocaster danocaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: nashville
Posts: 102
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

True -- but You CAN set all outputs to be 002 AND SPDIF at the same time ( works the same )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:01 AM
tzone tzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

Just joined DUC I think you might be able to access mirroring through the digicore manager in the dock Big blue D.Tracy Y.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:04 AM
wmcintyre wmcintyre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: london
Posts: 299
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

The master fader cannot be mirrored only audio tracks etc.

so the work around is to mirror every track in your session and then have two master faders 1+2 and the other SPDIF.......g r e a t

even core audio (7.3) doesn't remember the mirror checkbox which is a real pain

as to the question "Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?" I wish I knew
__________________
]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2006, 01:41 PM
Rodgre Rodgre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

I'm aware of the workaround of setting individual tracks for S/PDIF + Analog 1+2 and all that. If that was all I had to do to solve my issues, I'd grin and bare it, but then when I want to audition an Audiosuite plug-in, it ONLY goes to the analog out. Does anyone know a secret code for making THAT go to S/PDIF too?

...and man, having to set the Core Audio to mirror just so I can listen to other stuff through the S/PDIF out EVERY TIME I start the computer.... what a pain!

I just don't get it at all.

Is Digidesign so confident in the sound of the 002's D/A converters that they don't think anyone would ever want to bypass them? I've been doing this for years with the 001 with no problems (as soon as I realized how bad the analog outs sounded compared to the S/PDIF through any other D/A that I had in the studio).

I just think this is so absurd. It's as if Digidesign is TRYING to make life hard for me. Why do away with a simple and useful feature? That's not an upgrade. I can't imagine that it would have added another hundred dollars to the price to implement it, or another week of R&D, would it?

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:23 PM
dkstudios dkstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SLC UTAH
Posts: 126
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

OK , here is what you do sir......go to I/O in setup, and click on the audition paths box set it to spdif....walaa your done....also there you can set default track output etc........,....If you want to get creative....create your own I/o template, and save it.....As for core audio, I am having the same issue since upgrading to 7.3...pain in the ass
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:23 PM
dkstudios dkstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SLC UTAH
Posts: 126
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

OK , here is what you do sir......go to I/O in setup, and click on the audition paths box set it to spdif....walaa your done....also there you can set default track output etc........,....If you want to get creative....create your own I/o template, and save it.....As for core audio, I am having the same issue since upgrading to 7.3...pain in the ass
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:28 PM
dkstudios dkstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SLC UTAH
Posts: 126
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

AND TO ANSWER YOUR ? 002 DOES DO MIRRORING....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:32 PM
dkstudios dkstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SLC UTAH
Posts: 126
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

FYI AGAIN....... GO TO SETUP IN PROTOOLS....GOT TO I/O........CLICK THE OUTPUT TAB...GO TO AUDITION PATH BOX.....sorry i was not more clear....THAT IS WHERE YOU WILL FIND WHAT YOU ARE SEARCHING FOR!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2007, 02:56 AM
wmcintyre wmcintyre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: london
Posts: 299
Default Re: Why no S/PDIF output mirroring with 002?

Quote:
AND TO ANSWER YOUR ? 002 DOES DO MIRRORING....

can you tell me how this is done on the master fader........
__________________
]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
s/pdif and Analog 1/2 mirroring not available? ampersandrecording Pro Tools 9 2 04-08-2011 11:27 AM
Mirroring outs 1-2 to S/PDIF Jperkins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-24-2009 08:15 AM
Please Help 002r S/PDIF output mirroring MWP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-25-2006 06:35 PM
Anyone with 6.1- did they fix the S/PDIF mirroring bug? Stone Knife 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-08-2003 05:22 PM
S/PDIF Mirroring bstaley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-11-2000 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com