Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2004, 01:38 AM
Pro-Tools-User Pro-Tools-User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 59
Default Memory allocation checkbox ????

After 6.1.1 Update, theres a ..........
New checkbox in the Playback engine dialog, requires 2mb of system memory, I currently have 13mb of system memory allocated.

minimize system memory allocation CHECKBOX
do I check the box ???

what does it do??
More horsepower for PTLE ???
Does it change my Windows Page file setting ???

Found a thread that didn't answer any questions, but stated that once checked, and re-booted, the option dissapears - can you get it bac, and uncheck it if need be??

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2004, 07:56 AM
Pro-Tools-User Pro-Tools-User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: To check the box or to NOT check the box????

Well, like curiousity killed the cat, my impatience got the best of me, and I checked the box, and re-booted.

And yes, low and behold, that dialog vanished into thin air, now it's back to the old playback engine dialog, and it seems as though I have set my machine to "Minimize System Memory Allocation"

My windows page file is the same size, what exactly have I done??

David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:25 PM
Pro-Tools-User Pro-Tools-User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: To check the box or to NOT check the box????

Bump

anyone have any thoughts on this????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2004, 07:14 PM
Pro-Tools-User Pro-Tools-User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: To check the box or to NOT check the box????

well, it's been a week of work, all is working well, and just for curiosity sake, and to become educated, and enlightened, I'm still wondering what exactly that dialog did, if I can get it back, or "undo" what the checkbox did ???

No one seems to know ???

David
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:24 AM
Kevin Stone Kevin Stone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Youesay
Posts: 204
Default Re: To check the box or to NOT check the box????

Here's what the PT ref manual says about it. TDM only it seems, so I wonder why it should show up at all? Have you tried emailing Digi to ask? Get back to us if you find out for sure, because I'd like to know too. Would be nice to know if theree's a way to un-check it, assuming it does something in LE.

System Memory Allocation
(Pro Tools 6.x for TDM Systems Only)
When you start your computer, Pro Tools automatically
reserves a portion of system memory
for the DAE Playback Buffer. This reserved memory
is unavailable to other applications, even if
Pro Tools is not running.
You can set Pro Tools to reserve only the minimum
amount of required memory, so that system
memory is available to other applications.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:27 PM
RonIvan RonIvan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 51
Default Re: Memory allocation checkbox ????

Is this adjusting DAE memory buffer or what?
Just like Stimpson Cat I had to push the button.
__________________
MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2GB OS X 10.4.8 MBox
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2004, 11:08 PM
RonIvan RonIvan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 51
Default Re: Memory allocation checkbox ????

bump
__________________
MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2GB OS X 10.4.8 MBox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimize system memory allocation, checkbox gone? DontLetMeDrown Windows 1 04-13-2011 10:15 AM
Memory Allocation 002 PT LE 6.7 sretepmada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-02-2007 03:49 PM
Memory allocation Rebeccah Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 09-18-2007 07:28 AM
minimize system memory allocation (checkbox) hanzoid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-17-2003 06:33 AM
memory allocation studiotony 001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 07-02-2002 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com