Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-29-2022, 04:24 AM
Hud Hud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 45
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Ah I see.
Well I bought into Avids digilink dream with the MTRX Studio, which I can only connect with the HD Native unit to Mac mini. I regret that, I should have got a TB Apogee Symphony.

I’m hoping to set up another rig that will be thunderbolt only thank god and will then probably sell off the MTRX. In the meantime I have an unreliable pro tools system (sure it might be Monterey that’s the issue nobody knows) that is giving me nightmares as the HD driver unloads intermittently during artist recordings! Subject of another thread.

What is it with Avidsoftware?! You have to install the HD driver separately to the main app?! Neanderthal engineering…just kills the creativity..sigh

Cheers
H
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-29-2022, 05:51 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,135
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

HD driver is only needed with 3rd party DAWs -- PT can handle HD hardware.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-30-2022, 08:09 AM
Hud Hud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 45
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Confused... I have HD Native hardware, an MTRX interface, and PT Ultimate 2022.9. Complete Avid chain on intel 2021 Mac mini Monterey 12.6 latest.

I STILL have to install the HD driver separately to the Pro Tools app, that is what I was calling Neanderthal engineering

cheers
H
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2022 04:30 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt Cables. SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-30-2018 10:24 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 10:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Firewire interfaces with thunderbolt only macs John_Toolbox Third Party Interfaces 10 09-27-2013 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com