Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2003, 12:04 AM
headpoppaz headpoppaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 6
Default Quicktime Crashes

Hi guys, just wondering if u guys have ever experienced crashes when u work with quicktime movies in LE. It always occur when i slide stuff around frame by frame. it seems like LE's not powerful enough to do some serious post work. Or could it be the verison of quicktime i am using, i have been through QT 5.0 and 6.0 and they make no difference. i have not encountered this on a TDM system tho.
PT 5.2.1
Quicktime Ver 5.0
OS 9.1

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2003, 12:29 AM
howlco howlco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: vancouver bc canada
Posts: 63
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes

hi you can try hiding movie track in your edit window... are you using DV-25 or are you using a copressed qt file? what kind of work are you doing?
__________________
Protools 9.02 - 002 digirack - mbp quadcore i7 - 27 i7 iMac
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2003, 09:16 AM
headpoppaz headpoppaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 6
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes

Hi there,
thanks for the reply, i am using QT compressed file and have tried hiding the movie track and flicking from frames to blocks in the movie track...
Could it be a ram issue other than the version of quicktime that i am using?
What are the normal frame size or res that you always request from the video folks when working?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2003, 10:09 AM
froyo froyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,864
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes

Hello. QuickTime's work best if you have the video file residing on a separate drive from the audio drive. Preferably the system drive. Also make sure have enough RAM for Pro Tools by itself (at least 512 for PT, so have about 600 to 700 overall). And in the Movie menu there are options for giving the movie higher or lower priority, so toggle with those. Also make sure you have the movie track in blocks. All these things help PT and QT play nice. See if any of this helps. Good luck.
__________________
froyo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2003, 07:44 PM
headpoppaz headpoppaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 6
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes

Cool, thanks for the tip.
i'm getting more RAM today, why do i need more than 512 when PT needs just 512 minimum, u mean the rest for the OS and stuff?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2003, 10:42 PM
soundboy69 soundboy69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: From: Trinidad (Humboldt Co.); living: somewhere between Chicago and St.Louis...
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes

Exactly...you've got it...go at least 768. In fact, you might as well max out the RAM on your system. Install as much as it will hold.
Also, just wondering, is there any reason that you're using OS 9.1? You might try using OS 9.2. Not that it has anything to do w/ your particular problem, but it might help...
__________________
soundphaRm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2003, 11:12 PM
headpoppaz headpoppaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 6
Default Re: Quicktime Crashes


i see, looks like i have to beef up even more RAM
as for your 9.1 question, i had just re-initialized my harddrive and the original disc comes with 9.1 ony installer, is there a marked difference between 9.1 and 9.2.
would have migrated to OSX land if it not for the plugs

it just costs too much to keep up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to Quicktime crashes jmattchan macOS 2 12-11-2011 01:13 PM
Mac Crashes after Quicktime Import Freemason Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-02-2009 10:31 AM
Pro Tools 7 crashes with Quicktime import dobyboby Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 12-06-2005 09:25 AM
Help, PT5.2.1 crashes with quicktime movie headpoppaz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-29-2003 10:03 AM
Quicktime Music Crashes PTF Elliot Anderson Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-23-2001 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com