Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2022, 11:54 PM
chickaboom chickaboom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

Hi there,

Will Pro tools ultimate play well with the new Mac studio? I'm mostly editing for television post production and want to upgrade from my 2014 iMac.

I'm looking at getting 32gig unified memory, 1 gig ssd M1 max

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2022, 12:26 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,762
Default Re: Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

Not much info. Like what version of Pro Tools and macOS are you on now? (Your profile up to date? You are on High Sierra?)

Will it play well? Maybe, maybe not. Depends. Depends if all the plugins and other apps and interface drivers you might need run OK. It's early days, if you buy stuff you need to be able to test it and be willing to return it if there are significant problems.

Start with your audio interface. Does it have drivers compatible with Monterey on Apple silicon? (drivers *must* have native support for Apple silicon).

You can check your plugins for claims of Apple Silicon and Monterey support.

Any video hardware or other stuff you need outside of Pro Tools?

You *might* want to migrate to Monterey and absolute latest Pro Tools and Avid plugins (important) on your current iMac and be staged ready to move those sessions across to the same on the new Mac. But then again you might not, all depends on what work you are doing, if stuff is expected to be fully compatible, if you will need to keep the iMac in an old config for backwards compatibility (e.g. drivers not supported on your new Mac), etc.

Whatever you do don't use the system migration utility to try to move apps or drivers to the new system. And be ready with all the latest compatible installers to reinstall everything.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 03-23-2022 at 01:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2022, 02:01 AM
chickaboom chickaboom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

Thanks for your reply. I didn't include a lot of detail but yes still running High Sierra! My interface is a 3rd generation Scarlett 4i4 which is compatible. All my other plug ins I'll need to check. I use Izotope RX 9 plus lots of others. I guess my question really was are people using pro tools with the M1 Max with success? I'll sort the rest out. I'm currently in a post production hiatus and would prefer to upgrade my computer before it gets busy again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2022, 03:22 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 998
Default Re: Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

I moved across to Pro Tools 21.12 on Monterey in January when it was not officially supported. However, I kept the old setup for a month before I was happy that most things were running. That way it won't stop your work.

You won't get an awful lot for a 2014 iMac, so you have nothing to lose by keeping it for a while.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 14.4.1
PT 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2022, 08:44 AM
glasswing glasswing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver Island b.c. Canada
Posts: 232
Default Re: Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

I get mine as soon as June 6. Ultra/128/2TB. I've researched and wasted a lot of time trying to answer my own questions online. You'll hear all kinds of opinions. If you pay too much attention it can drive you crazy, but most folks think it's going to be wonderful.
__________________
Mac Studio Ultra / 128 RAM/2TB HD / Avid HDX Chassis / 2 X Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe Thunderbolt Docks w Samsung 970 EVO Plus (6TB) / Avid C24 / Avid 16X16 I/O Analog / Lynx Aurora 16/16 1/O Analog / Dangerous 2 Bus / Benchmark ADC1
www.glasswing.com
www.richardsales.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2022, 12:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,762
Default Re: Mac studio - Pro tools ultimate compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by chickaboom View Post
Thanks for your reply. I didn't include a lot of detail but yes still running High Sierra! My interface is a 3rd generation Scarlett 4i4 which is compatible. All my other plug ins I'll need to check. I use Izotope RX 9 plus lots of others. I guess my question really was are people using pro tools with the M1 Max with success? I'll sort the rest out. I'm currently in a post production hiatus and would prefer to upgrade my computer before it gets busy again.
There are lots of useful posts on DUC with folks posting their experiences that you can just search for. For general questions you'll learn more by reading those than hoping folks will reply to you here. Google search with site:duc.avid.com qualifier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.6, HDX with MTRX Studio AAE-9171 errors at 96k nistades Pro Tools 9 07-14-2021 01:11 PM
question about macros and studio compatibility amoretam macOS 5 03-13-2013 03:09 PM
Decklink Studio compatibility? diamondschwin Post - Surround - Video 8 02-01-2013 03:44 PM
Ultimate Studio Facility??? keny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-03-2002 11:56 AM
Ultimate Ultra Portable Studio cheekypaul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-10-2002 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com