Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2013, 03:59 PM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 352
Default sorting clips in clip list

I could have sworn to have had this one figured out, but here I go again:

In the process of making some drumsamples of my own, when auto-renaming (kick_01, kick_02, ...) the regions, I would like the clip list to mirror the clip appearance in the edit window timeline, so that individual clips will be auto-renamed in the correct order. How is this possible? None of the sorting options seem to give me what I want?!

thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2023, 05:01 AM
Ivan Bergamo Ivan Bergamo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Herceg Novi, Montenegro
Posts: 25
Default Re: sorting clips in clip list

Is there any kind of workaround for this? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2023, 10:12 AM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 623
Default Re: sorting clips in clip list

If you don't clear unused clips AND batch rename the remaining clips to be sequential numbering, you will rarely get auto-generated clip names just as you like.

When I rename clips intentionally, they sort by name absolutely fine.

Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio voiceovers & testing software | 2nd gig: music software tutoring | hobby: electronic music //
||software: Sonoma 14.2 | PT Studio 2023.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB | OWC Thunderbolt Hub and Thunderbolt 3 Dock //
||devices: RME Babyface Pro FS | Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | Sennheiser HD 600 HP // Onkyo TX-8220 SR
||automation: SoundFlow | Stream Deck+ | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse | MacOS Shortcuts //
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2023, 12:27 PM
Ivan Bergamo Ivan Bergamo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Herceg Novi, Montenegro
Posts: 25
Default Re: sorting clips in clip list

Thanks. I think I have found a work-around. So, basically, you need to select all the clips and then render them with some audio-suite plugin (let's say Duplicate - set on "clip by clip"). And then, you can sort the Clip list by "creation date", and then it will be sorted in the same order like it is in the edit window, because it was rendered in that order. And then, you can use auto-rename feature.

You are welcome. :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 - Clip List always empty (no clips show) quangaroo macOS 6 04-19-2019 07:52 AM
Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list gigantorbuzz Pro Tools 10 6 08-05-2013 01:07 PM
Help with clips bin sorting please Michael Wilk Windows 0 06-27-2013 01:09 PM
Importing clips in Pro Tools 10 / clip naming legasafe Post - Surround - Video 3 10-20-2012 05:44 AM
Clip gain multiple clips workflow cjwalker Pro Tools 10 0 10-12-2012 02:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com