Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2011, 03:54 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 798
Default Delay Compensation on Master?

Hi,
Can anyone tell me if it matters if there is a samples delay on the master buss?

For example, none of my tracks have any samples delay but if I put Ozone 4 on the master buss then I can see 400 and something samples of delay.

Will this make any difference as all of the tracks will be delayed by the same amount no? Or will I benefit from using ATA Mellowmuse?

Also what about instrument tracks? Do they always show with a 10 samples delay?

Any advice would be cool, thanks.
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:44 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Delay Compensation on Master?

Master faders aren't compensated for by the ADC engine. Latency doesn't matter during mixing, but will throw you off during recording. So, just don't use plugins with much latency in the recording process, and you'll be fine.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2011, 06:13 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 798
Default Re: Delay Compensation on Master?

Quote:
Master faders aren't compensated for by the ADC engine. Latency doesn't matter during mixing, but will throw you off during recording. So, just don't use plugins with much latency in the recording process, and you'll be fine.
Brilliant, that's music to my ears!

What about software synths?

Both my superior Drummer and Xpand! have 10 samples delay on them.
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2011, 12:10 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Delay Compensation on Master?

Quote:
What about software synths?

Both my superior Drummer and Xpand! have 10 samples delay on them.
10 samples is the norm here. DB-33, Velvet and Boom all report 10 samples to the ADC engine.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Compensation + Master Track twix Pro Tools 9 10 08-27-2011 03:52 PM
Bypass Delay Compensation on Master Bus? Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-16-2008 09:15 PM
Can you disable Delay Compensation on Master? AINSLIE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-15-2008 09:56 AM
Delay Compensation on Master Fader musicnutt2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-12-2006 04:08 AM
Cannot bypass delay compensation on master fade insanesounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 06-28-2005 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com