Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:32 PM
Sixstringer7 Sixstringer7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 109
Default PCIx Process with Accel?

Will a PCI or PCIx accel card work with a non-accel card?

For example Core card + Accel + Process (Non Accel) to make an HD3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:37 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

yes, and that is the recommended order for mixing card types
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:55 PM
Sixstringer7 Sixstringer7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 109
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

So, Accel cards CAN be used in the same system as non-accel cards?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:55 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

NP here in my Magma PCIX chassis...kinda makes an HD2.5. My process card has been running strong for years, added the Magma and an Accel card last year... Good, and relatively cheap HP.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2011, 08:01 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixstringer7 View Post
So, Accel cards CAN be used in the same system as non-accel cards?
yes they can,

now PCI and PCIe can not be used in the same system (well maybe there is MOBO out there for a custom rolled rig but lets not go there)

all PCIe cards have Accel chips
no PCI core card has Accel chips
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:50 AM
TornadoTed TornadoTed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mid Wales
Posts: 46
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

I have a HD3 with a mix of cards in a 4 slot Magma chassis and all works fine.

Core Card - Accel Card - Process Card in that order.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2011, 06:31 AM
Sixstringer7 Sixstringer7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 109
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

When mixing the card types (Core with an Accel and a Process card for HD3), are there plug-ins that won't work?
I recall reading somewhere that Accel cards work with a newer generation of TDM plug-ins. Does this mean that the older Process card will keep me from using PT9 or some new plug-ins?

I would like to upgrade to PT9 soon, so would this set up be compatible with PT9 as well?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2011, 07:01 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: PCIx Process with Accel?

There's absolutely no limitation that is created by mixing the two types if cards. The Accel only plugins use the Accel chips, and there are very few Accel only plugins, and the other ones use whatever is available. Many of us have mixed card systems in chassis. Adding a non Accel Process card to an existing Accel system is a cheap way to add some extra horsepower, plain and simple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD core + 2 process card, both pcix - £600 Grooveguru Buy & Sell 0 02-07-2013 04:53 AM
standard pcix core card with accel pcix pie55 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 02-08-2012 03:33 PM
core+accel PCIX, no process card possible? painz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-25-2011 01:00 AM
Can I use the 'Process PCIX' on PC(XP or win7)?? painz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-17-2011 11:21 AM
Problem populating HD 4 accel + Process + Process Brandonx1 Post - Surround - Video 6 07-15-2010 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com