Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2008, 11:29 PM
jhammer619 jhammer619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Default master fader mixdown

For my final mixdowns I have been bussing every track to a stereo Auxilary track. This has my mastering plug-ins on it. I then send the output to a stereo Audio track and hit record. To get a summed .wav file, i highlight that audio file i just recorded, and hit shift+apple+k to export it.

Essentially I created a master fader. What boggles me is that I cannot do this using the built in master fader. When I simply create a master fader, put the plug-ins on it, and send it to an audio track to record, it records nothing. Anybody else have the same problem?
__________________
002r (stock)
Home: G5 Dual 2.5 GHz PPC, 5GB Ram, 10.4.9, PTLE 7.3.1
Portable: MBP 5,5 13" 2.26 GHz C2D, 2GB Ram, 10.6.2, PTLE 8.0.3cs1
OWC Mercury Elite Pro FW400 80 GB, 400 GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2008, 11:58 PM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: master fader mixdown

Master faders don't "send" anything. They are ASSIGNED to a specific bus or output. They do not affect routing. They are simply an insert point (pre- their own fader) and a fader that is 100% identical to altering all the faders sending to that bus or output by their fade proportion.

So you can do this but you need to send all those tracks to the bus that is used as input to the audio mixdown track, and then assign a master fader to that same bus. The plugins must be on the master fader and not the audio track itself, as plugins on an audio track are "post-tape". The aux input variety works just as well but costs an additional bus.
__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:42 AM
jhammer619 jhammer619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Default Re: master fader mixdown

so basically to do what I wish, there's no way to avoid sending each and every track to a bus. But the way you said is more efficient, thanks!
__________________
002r (stock)
Home: G5 Dual 2.5 GHz PPC, 5GB Ram, 10.4.9, PTLE 7.3.1
Portable: MBP 5,5 13" 2.26 GHz C2D, 2GB Ram, 10.6.2, PTLE 8.0.3cs1
OWC Mercury Elite Pro FW400 80 GB, 400 GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:50 AM
dogon dogon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 169
Default Re: master fader mixdown

Another good reason for working the way you are is.....
Inserts on the master fader are post fader inserts.
This is not that great if you you have a compressor inserted and do a fade out.
happy mixing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Gain Structure Fader/Master Fader Question acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2011 05:36 AM
Master mixdown basslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-02-2009 08:15 PM
Master fader over loaded on mixdown converted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 01-31-2009 10:30 AM
Plugins on Master Fader or Main Mixdown Track studioslave77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 12-20-2007 12:02 PM
What are you using on your master fader during mixdown? H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-03-2001 06:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com