Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2000, 03:49 PM
stufflake stufflake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Sync / word clock help needed

I have PT 24 mix plus with ADAT Bridge 24-bit, Mac G4, Alesis AI-3, Panasonic Ramsa DA7 with two ADAT cards, MOTU MTP AV, 2 ADAT XTs (16-bit) and 24-track analog.

How to sync these up without getting clicks and pops ? I use ADATs to transfer tracks to PT and analog machine for tracking drums & bass. I'd also like to control the ADATs from Mac or DA7.

I tried to record adat tracks to pt but only got digital distortion along with the music.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2000, 04:11 PM
postboy postboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Sync / word clock help needed

Stuff...

For my money you just can't get around the need for a big, bad, buff master clock, and to that end, I strongly recommend the Aard Sync II masterclock.

It is a bit pricey,(1795.00 list) but, you can not beat it!

It will lock everything in your system to one clock source and should effectivly remove any of those annoying clicks and pops.
(provided you have the whole system clocking to it)

If you cant afford this solution, try something like MOTU's MTP AV, not quite as expensive and not a bad clock source.

good luck,

postboy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2000, 06:02 PM
stufflake stufflake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sync / word clock help needed

I think I told I have MTP AV !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2000, 12:26 AM
dbullard1 dbullard1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 67
Default Re: Sync / word clock help needed

Well, Lets see.

If you're pulling your ADAT info in Via Lightpipe, be sure to set your PT Sync to Digital, and have the Bridge be the first device in your Superclock chain. If you want to sync any other pieces, you can do it via lightpipe digital or, if they all will take Wordclock, that's even better.

The MTPAV is great, and another external clock (not to inflate Digi's Ego too much) is the USD, which seriously rivals the Aardsync II in stability.

Where were you hearing pops anyway?

David Bullard
Masque Sound and Recording
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2000, 03:02 PM
stufflake stufflake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sync / word clock help needed

Today I got my setup working somehow ... I installed MTP AV and I can control my ADATs from Clockworks program (supplied with MTP) but not from ProTools, it doesn't sync and mmc doesn't work at all. What could be wrong ?

ADAT Bridge is the first device, but the manual told me to set PT Sync to Internal. ?? I will try with "digital". The pops I told you about were caused by my DA7 console but I figured that out already, it had some wordclock problems.

Mike

[email protected]

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Word Clock Needed to sync FOH and MONS? JCollee VENUE Live Sound Systems 7 08-28-2010 09:44 PM
Word clock sync goga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-11-2008 11:28 AM
The Word about Clock Sync and I'm confused. Banister 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-08-2006 12:55 PM
L2 won't sync to 192 Word Clock Studio Dweller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-23-2003 06:50 AM
Digimax word clock sync bsjaco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-19-2002 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com