How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-28-2015, 07:42 PM

Default Crackling noise when playback guitar recording

Guys, I'm new to recording.

I'm trying to record my accoustic guitar into a pream (Tube Ultragian MIC 200) and from there to my M-Audio Fast Track Pro, left input (bottom clicked as line). In Pro Tools I have my I/O set up is, input to LineIn M-Audio Stereo (the only option I can see), output to Analog 1/2 Fastrack (stereo).

I have my internal speakers as default (as recommened in some assistance videos).

I recorded a short playinhg with the guitar, have a good signal, and when playing back sounds initially OK, and in some parts with a crackling.

Any help will be appreciated

My configuration is:
Laptop Toshiba Osmio harman/kardon
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
i7 2.20 GHZ
RAM 8G
M-AUDIO Fast Track Pro
TUBE ULTRAGAIN MIC 200
Pro Tools 11

Last edited by andresfata; 02-28-2015 at 07:43 PM. Reason: don't see my configuration
Old 02-28-2015, 08:18 PM

Default Crackling noise when playback guitar recording

Cracking can sometimes happen if your trying to record with too low of a buffer

Also you are using 2 hard drives right?

Have you done all the optimizations, that avid recommends?
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 02-28-2015 at 09:53 PM. Reason: I graduated high school I swear☺
Old 02-28-2015, 08:25 PM

Default Re: Crackling noise when playback guitar recording

You are trying to use ASIO4ALL to use your computer's internal speakers aggregated with this interface? That is a bad idea, you should have studio monitors connected to the interface and should start by using the ASIO driver (no need for ASIO4ALL).