Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2001, 05:38 PM
legativity legativity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 103
Default New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

Hi,
Is anyone experiencing USB communication errors between Emagic
Unitor/AMT8 midi boxes and new G4's?
I'm (using G4/867).
Can't seem to go 20 seconds without error. Unitor is directly into computer,
3 AMT8's chained. Have tried every conceivable ext. set.
Using in Logic and ProTools Mix Plus.

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2001, 11:16 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

No problems here with my Dual 800 and AMT8. It's all good...make sure you have all the latest AMT/Unitor drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2001, 01:31 PM
dss dss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 140
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

this may be nothing more than moral support, but i have a Unitor 8 mkII paralelled to a Unitor 8. they are connected via USB to my 9600 and it works flawlessly.

i am using the latest drivers.

however, my 867 G4 is due on friday, i'll let you know more when it arrives and we are using the same devices.

also, try disconnecting your chain. how does it work with only one device attatched?

are you using OMS? if so, have you got the most recent Unitor Family OMS Driver?

dss
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2001, 02:57 PM
legativity legativity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 103
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

thanks. No OMS. Same problem with
just one device. What a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2001, 08:11 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

I sometimes have to cycle my chain of four AMT8's when I first boot up for the day, but otherwise, things work fine.

I did find out at the beginning that the first AMT8 in a chain needs to be rev. 2.04 firmware or later (otherwise the USB doesn't recognize it properly). Have you checked to see if your Unitor has the latest firmware?

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2001, 01:30 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 668
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

Lee wrote:
>I did find out at the beginning that the >first AMT8 in a chain needs to be rev. 2
>.04 firmware or later (otherwise the USB >doesn't recognize it properly). Have you >checked to see if your Unitor has the >latest firmware?\

Can you update firmware yourself?
Emagics site seems to be down presently...

best
janne a.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2001, 06:47 AM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

I'm not sure, but I think you can update the firmware of the Unitor, but not the AMT8.

In my case, two of my AMT8's were version 2.04, and two of them were version 2.02, so I just shuffled them around so that a 2.04 was first in line.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2001, 11:40 AM
Kevan Staples Kevan Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Canadada
Posts: 381
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

legativity

I'm trying to troubleshoot a problem for a Cubase user who has three Midex 8s hooked up to a hub to a Dual 800. As you're using three interfaces and a QS mac there may be some similarities.

What problems are you having specifically....loosing connections or just errors? Which errors and do they have numbers associated or just text alerts?

Have you tried using OMS?
Have you tried a powered hub as three devices draws quite a bit from the port. Wait I suppose the Unitor and AMT likely have their own power supplies...doh!

I believe there may be something about the USB implementation with the QS macs but this is just speculation. It seems that single interfaces are fine but multiple devices is causing some problems. Can you get it working reliably with just one interface...if so then try two and see if it's any better or worse.

Kevan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2001, 01:13 PM
legativity legativity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 103
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

I fixed the problem by eliminating the Unitor8 MkII. So now I have 4 AMT's (first one being Rev 2.04) and all is beautiful. I don't think it was a problem with that specific Unitor, as I put a brand new one in yesterday and had the same problem. Since the Unitor is a more in depth syncronizer, maybe it has a conflict with QS Macs USB(??). The AMT's are strictly midi, no LTC or VITC, etc.
It works fine now.
Thanks for all the response.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2001, 05:13 PM
Joris Vincken Joris Vincken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Roermond Netherlands
Posts: 389
Default Re: New G4\'s and Unitor Midi Interface Problems?

My dealer told me that USB and multiple Unitors is a problem. None of his clients use it (they have an old Mac port installed). I am however using a Unitor8 and AMT8 and it is working fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools not recognizing unitor 8 usb midi interface blujway Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-25-2011 03:01 PM
001 with emagic unitor 8 midi interface Paul T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-15-2002 01:01 PM
001 with emagic unitor 8 midi interface????? Paul T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-03-2002 10:42 PM
Annoying SYSEX Problems w/ Unitor 8 MKII dparada78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-24-2002 07:30 AM
Problems using unitor 8 mk2 with 001 (OMS) tim wills 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-14-2001 07:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com