Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2009, 01:35 PM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Problems Chasing Code

The other day our ProTools system dropped out of record on a gig while chasing 29.97 drop code. Thank god for my backup machine.

The system was set to JAM sync, and I have no idea why it stopped rolling.

Was able to duplicate the problem back at the shop, and indeed the rig will stop playing (or recording) whenever the incoming code hits exactly 11:25:39;10. It will not chase any code after that particular timestamp. There are no regions highlighted, or anything obvious in the session preferences.

Also tried creating a new session from scratch, same results - won't drop in after 11:25:39;10


Any ideas?

-MC

ProTools HDIII / 7.4
Sync i/o firmware 1.1.4
SSL Madi i/o
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2009, 02:03 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

What's your session start time? Is it 00:00:00:00? What's you sample rate? Pro Tools would appear to use a 32 bit signed integer to store sample counts which means that at 48KHz a session can only be 745 minutes long or 12.4 hours long - this is counted from the session start time.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2009, 02:32 PM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Thanks Pete,

I set this particular session to start at: 11:00:00;00. So it actually stops only 25 mins in. It is setup as 24bit/48k .wav files. It does play (and record) just fine when I'm not chasing code.
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2009, 02:40 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Hmmm,
Your session is definitely set to the same frame rate as the incoming code? What clock is the system resolving to? Is it from the same source as the reference feeding whatever is sending you code?

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2009, 02:46 PM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Yes, confirmed session frame rate (29.97 drop) matches incoming code rate.

The PT system is clocked to an Apogee Big Ben - the code onsite came from a Lockit box. And I've been testing it again in my shop with a Deneke TC generator. Neither of which are genlocked.
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:26 PM
Bob Brown Bob Brown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 246
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

It looks like you have found a bug.

I'll check this out shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:36 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,898
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Bob, he's on 7.4! I'm running 8.01 and chase code anywhere from 08;50;00;00 up to 19;30;00;00 without issue, either in QuickPunch or TrackPunch mode. It must be something else.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:40 PM
Bob Brown Bob Brown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 246
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Thanks Eric

You just saved me some time... and reminded me to read the DUC report a little more thoroughly!

I sure thought I fixed that bug in the not too distant past.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2009, 09:20 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,898
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndreStudios View Post
Neither of which are genlocked.

Are you saying nothing is getting blackburst? You're NOT feeding it to the BigBen? What happens if you IGNORE BigBen, feed timecode and video-sync to the Sync IO? If you don't have blackburst then loop video through the Sync IO... that's always worked for me in a pinch.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-03-2009, 07:26 AM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Problems Chasing Code

The PT system is clocked to a BigBen - WC into the Sync i/o, but it behaves the same way when set to Internal as well.

The code on this particular gig came in from a small non-genlocked "lockit box" Very common on TV shoots - tv audio guy will jam all of these boxes together in the morning and velcro them onto the camera backs so everyone references the same time-of-day code. Probably not rock solid, without a common genlock (black) reference, but good enough for a couple hours of shooting. And fine for getting a start point in JAM mode.

I digress...I don't think the incoming generator really is playing a part in all of this, as the rig is set to JAM sync.
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Authorization Code & many other problems SDennett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 04-23-2009 07:58 AM
Problems with Autherization code proaudio3645 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-17-2008 07:17 PM
Problems with a USD? Code=501 antonis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 02-17-2008 06:54 PM
Activation Code problems ,no support??? SandroG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-14-2005 11:54 AM
PT6 upgrade code problems SPACES!! potatohead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-14-2003 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com