Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 07-14-2004, 11:54 AM

Default Work Flow for new project

Hello all. I will try to make this brief. I work as the audio director for a small multimedia company who just got a huge project. Most of our projects are corporate video, industrial training and the like. Not the most entertaining stuff but it still needs voice and music.... So far my LE rig PT5.1.1 OS 9.2 has held up fine for the needs of our clients. The video guys send me quicktime from their Avids...I do my post work....shoot it back over....life is good. But with this upcoming project we will be venturing into territory which I have very little experience. Basicly what we will be producing will be a 12-15 minute World War II reenactment on film. With original score and recording. No bombs and artillery but the capture of a German U-Boat. The audio content and aquisition I am not so worried about, it is working with film and the potential problems that it can introduce, frame rate issues,sync, yada yada. I know I won't be able to eliminate all problems but I want to avoid as many pitfalls as I can before I start. So if any of you have any advice or tips to share, I would be more than grateful to hear them. Especially regarding on location audio capturing for film. I have read alot of articles but you can never really know the full scope of things until you talk with people who actually do it. Also, are there any other similar forums that I could post to get some advice? Thanks in advacnce.

BJ Aberle
OS X 10.6.5
Pro Tools 9 002R
Old 07-17-2004, 06:36 PM

Default Re: Work Flow for new project